Buffalo Wins Four Events At Men’s MAC Championships

Photo Courtesy: Buffalo Athletics

Buffalo won four events on night three of the 2017 MAC Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships. Two Buffalo swimmers set meet and league records.

2017 MAC Men’s Championships Day 3 Finals – Results

400 IM

Missouri State’s Phillip Willett dominated the 400 IM to begin day three. The sophomore stopped the clock in 3:46.67, over three seconds ahead of the rest of the field to set a new pool record.

Southern Illinois’ Filippo Dell’Onio finished second in 3:49.98 and Missouri State’s Christopher Heye took third in 3:50.61.

Miami-Ohio’s Nicholas Wukovits (3:53.22), Buffalo’s Charles Barry (3:53.33), Eastern Michigan’s Kyle Lichtenberg (3:53.36), Buffalo’s Scott Huang (3:56.74), and Missouri State’s Ethan Bresette (3:57.32) rounded out the top eight.

Screen Shot 2017-03-03 at 8.33.50 PM

100 Fly

Buffalo’s Mason Miller won his second individual event of the weekend after taking the 100 fly title tonight. The sophomore narrowly won in 46.66 to defend his MAC title. His time also broke the meet record set last year and the league record set back in 1999.

Missouri State’s Artur Osvath finished a close second in 46.94 and Eastern Michigan’s Logan Burton took third in 47.63.

Miami-Ohio’s Iago Moussalem do Amaral (47.75), Southern Illinois’ Joao Facciotti (48.13), Eastern Michigan’s Connor Johnson (49.00), Miami-Ohio’s Pete Simcox (49.34), and Missouri State’s Preston Selby (49.49) also swam in the A-Final.

Screen Shot 2017-03-03 at 8.34.55 PM

200 Free

Southern Illinois’ Andre Luiz Brilhante won a very close 200 free final as the top six swimmers were separated by 0.35. The senior got his hand on the wall first in 1:37.40.

Second place went to Missouri State’s Kacper Cwiek in 1:37.43 and third place went to Miami-Ohio’s Lucas Brock in 1:37.47.

Missouri State’s Michael Mollak (1:37.55), Eastern Michigan’s Jake Tyson (1:37.70), Missouri State’s Will Brand (1:37.75), Miami-Ohio’s Justin Andrews (1:40.27), and Miami-Ohio’s Jack Strauss (1:40.68) rounded out the top eight.

Screen Shot 2017-03-03 at 8.46.57 PM

100 Breast

Buffalo’s Itai De La Vega defended his MAC title in the 100 breast, winning the event in 53.61 for the second-straight year. His time broke his own meet and league record set at this meet last year.

Missouri State’s Uldis Tazans took second in 53.98 and Buffalo’s Garrett Clarke finished third in 54.23.

Missouri State’s Nicholas Theunissen (54.48), Miami-Ohio’s Hutch Blackstone (54.62), Buffalo’s Luke Otto (54.65), Southern-Illinois’ Bobby Wood (54.76), and Eastern Michigan’s Aaron Hendry (56.32) also swam in the final heat.

Screen Shot 2017-03-03 at 9.21.38 PM

100 Back

Buffalo’s Hudson Carroll just out-touched the runner-up by .01 to win the 100 back. The junior, who finished fourth in this event last year, won in 48.12.

Eastern Michigan’s Cole Bateman took a close second in 48.13 while his teammate Tosh Kawaguchi swam to third in 48.58.

Miami-Ohio’s James Wray (48.75), Eastern Michigan’s Logan Burton (48.83), Missouri State’s Conner Ripp (48.85), Eastern Michigan’s Matan Segal (49.11), and Missouri State’s Preston Selby (49.50) completed the A-Final.

Screen Shot 2017-03-03 at 9.22.56 PM

400 Medley Relay

Buffalo won the final event of the evening. The team of Carroll (48.56), De La Vega (54.21), Miller (46.00), and Martin leigh (44.29) posted a time of 3:13.06.

Missouri State’s Conner Ripp (48.96), Uldis Tazans (53.99), Osvath (46.43), and Samuel Senn (44.30) took second in 3:13.68 and Miami-Ohio’s James Wray (49.19), Hutch Blackstone (54.03), Moussalem de Amaral (47.30), and Nick Ward (44.32) finished third in 3:14.84.

Screen Shot 2017-03-03 at 10.10.21 PM

Team Scores:

1. Missouri State-503
2. Buffalo-427.5
3. Eastern Michigan-416
4. Miami-Ohio-379.5
5. Southern Illinois-305
6. Evansville-111
7. Ball State-109

Prelims will begin tomorrow at 11 a.m. CST.

All results can be found on Meet Mobile-2017 MAC Men’s Swim and Dive Championship.