2019 Speedo Sectionals Jenks Day 3: Antonio Thomas, Aiden Hayes Pick Up Second Victories

400 free champion Antonio Thomas. Photo Courtesy: Jesse Scheve/Missouri State University

The third day of the Speedo Sectionals at Jenks, Oklahoma saw competition in the 400 free, 100 breast, 200 fly, 50 back and 800 free relay. This meet is being hosted at the Jenks Trojan Aquatic Center from 17-20 July.

Today’s events saw photo finishes, major time drops and great swims across the board. Antonio Thomas and Aiden Hayes won their second titles of the meet, while Autumn Haebig and Audrey Coffey kept their spots on the podium.

The battle for overall team honors is heating up as only four points separate the leader from the second place team. At the end of the third day of competition, the overall team scores are as follows:

  1. Flyers Aquatic Swim Team (880.5)
  2. American Energy Swim Club (876.5)
  3. Greater Omaha Aquatics Leopard (801.5)

Check out the coverage from Day 1 and Day 2 of the Speedo Sectionals Jenks. Results can be found on Meet Mobile under 2019 Region VIII Summer Sectionals.

Women’s 400 Free

Taking home the first gold of the evening was Swim Tulsa’s Liberty Howell, getting under the 4:20 mark with a time of 4:19.45. In second place was Club Husker’s Autumn Haebig (4:21.12), who has been having a great meet with two earlier podium finishes. Taking third was her teammate Club Husker’s Audrey Coffey (4:21.96), who won the 800 free earlier in the meet.

Springfield’s Kate McCarville came in fourth with a time of 4:22.69, while University of Arkansas’ Alexis Lujunggren came fifth with a time of 4:24.71. Nabbing sixth place was Christine Blomquist (4:26.26) of American Energy Swim Club, while Club Husker’s Rachel Powers (4:27.46) and University of Arkansas’ Peyton Palsha (4:28.70) rounded out the top eight swimmers.

Men’s 400 Free

Antonio Thomas of Missouri State won his second title of the meet, comfortably winning by over 5 seconds over his nearest rival with a time of 3:56.95. Hunter Denison of American Energy Swim Club came in second clocking in at 4:02.48, while Christopher Callahan of Trident Aquatics won the battle for third place with a time of 4:03.06.

Taking fourth place was Ryan Baker of Parkway (4:04.72), while Club North Swimming’s Evan Holt grabbed fifth place (4:10.16) and 15 year old Alec Enyeart of Tsunami Swim Team took sixth place (4:11.31). City of Plano Swimmers’ Maguire Sheppard (4:13.35) and Flyers Aquatics’ Aaron Kohler (4:14.44) finished seventh and eighth respectively.

Women’s 100 Breast

Winning gold was 15 year old Aubree Brouwer of Springfield Aquatics clocking in at 1:09.78. Splash Club’s Katherine Steward swam a 1:10.36 to take a close second. Olivia Mendenhall of Springfield Aquatics won a tight race for third place (1:11.89) beating out Splash Club’s Haley Downey (1:11.93) by 0.04. The race came down to the wire as there was barely a second separating the third to eighth finisher.

Jocelyn Randby of Greater Omaha Aquatics Leopard took fifth place in a time of 1:12.13, while American Energy’s Hanna Newby took sixth in 1:12.44, and Razorback Aquatics’ Audrey McKinnon took seventh in 1:12.85. Angelina Rossi of American Energy (1:12.89) rounded out the championship final.

Men’s 100 Breast

Parkway’s Mark Franz emerged victorious with a time of 1:03.90. Conner Funke of Greater Omaha Aquatics Leopard took silver clocking in at 1:04.37. Sarpy County’s Noah Barr came third (1:04.46) narrowly beating out his brother Luke Barr (1:04.90).

Maxwell Boehnlein of Kansas City Blazers grabbed fifth place (1:05.23) and Empire KC’s Daniel Worth took sixth place (1:05.48). In seventh place was Cool Swim Team’s Jay Mercer (1:06.00) while teammate Christopher Sprenger came eighth (1:06.36).

Women’s 200 Fly

Amelie Lessing, swimming unattached, took home the title, dropping almost three seconds from the prelims in a time of 2:16.58. Winning a close battle for second place was Husker’s Madison Coughlen clocking in at 2:17.56, while Madeline Marks of Northwest Arkansas took third at 2:17.76.

Kate McCarville of Springfield Aquatics took fourth place in a time of 2:17.82, while Hayley Pike of Northwest Arkansas came fifth (2:20.55). Ellen Flanagan of Kansas Swimming finished sixth (2:20.56) and University of Arkansas’ Marlena Pigliacampi finished seventh (2:21.76). Husker’s Isabelle Murray (2:30.22) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 200 Fly

Sixteen-year-old Aiden Hayes of Sooner Swim Club took the gold clocking in at 2:04.92. Hayes has proved his butterfly dominance, as he took gold in the 50 fly and silver in the 100 fly earlier in the meet. Rush Clark of Greater Omaha took silver with a time of 2:05.49, while Parkway’s Noah Scheuermann came third in a time of 2:05.85.

Empire KC’s Lance Godard grabbed fourth place (2:07.76), Sarpy County’s Thomas Lundlin came in fifth (2:08.06), while Empire KC’s Harold Tjaden came sixth (2:08.81). Tsunami Swim Team’s Cameron Murphy (2:09.61) and Sarpy County’s Mateo Micelli (2:10.66) finished seventh and eighth respectively.

Women’s 50 Back

16 year old Abigail Karl of Empire KC dipped under 29 seconds to win in a time of 28.97. Molly Moore of Springfield took second place honors with a time of 29.49, while Dewi Blose of American Energy Swim Club came third in 29.65.

University of Arkansas’ Tayde Sansores De La Fluent finished fourth (29.78) to beat out Husker’s Autumn Haebig (29.82). Elizabeth Amato-Hanner of Kansas Swimming snuck under 30 to finish sixth (29.90). Springfield’s Casaundra Moses took seventh place (30.20) while University of Arkansas’ Kobie Melton (30.29) rounded out the championship final.

Men’s 50 Back

Sarpy County’s Luke Barr dropped over half a second from the prelims to take the win clocking in at 26.00. Aquatic Club of Elhorn’s Thomas Nelson came in second in a time of 26.59, while Greater Omaha’s Colin Lafave took third at 26.64. Kevin Glen of Kansas City Blazers came fourth with a time of 26.80, while Rockwood’s Jack Dolan nabbed fifth place (26.88).

In sixth place was Wichita Swim Club’s Benjamin Patton clocking in at 27.25, followed by Kansas City Blazers’ John Paul Hynes (27.39) and Greater Omaha’s Kody Hollingsworth (27.73).

Women’s 800 Free Relay

Club Husker won the first relay of the night, their quartet of Jessica PentlargeAllie Worrall, Savannah Savitt and Autumn Haebig winning with ease in a time of 8:23.64. The team from University of Arkansas came second (8:28.14) followed by Flyers Aquatic Swim Team (8:33.74). The “B” Team from Club Husker took fourth in a time of 8:40.75.

Men’s 800 Free Relay

On the men’s side, American Energy Swim Club (William Ingram, Hunter Denison, George Glover, Luke Davis) won handily by over ten seconds in a time of 7:40.99. The team from Parkway Swim Club took runner-up honors in a time of 7:51.60 while the team from Greater Omaha Aquatics Leopard came third (7:54.59). Club North Swimming came fourth (7:55.73).

The Speedo Sectionals Jenks will continue tomorrow with prelims beginning at 9am. The events contested include the 200 free relay, 100 back, 200 IM, 50 free, 400 medley relay and the 1500 free.