2019 Men’s Ivy League Championships Day 4: Harvard Wins by a Landslide

Photo Courtesy: Harvard Athletics

By Olivia McKelvey, Swimming World College Intern.

Four days of competition later and the 2019 Men’s Ivy League Championship is coming to a close. The line-up for the final session tonight consisted of the men’s 200 back, the men’s 100 free, the men’s 200 breast, the men’s 200 fly, the men’s 3-meter diving and the men’s 400 free relay.

Day four results

The final results and team scores of the 2019 Men’s Ivy League Championships can be found below:

  1. Harvard – 1432.5
  2. Princeton University – 1209.5
  3. University of Pennsylvania – 1120.5
  4. Columbia University – 1037
  5. Yale University – 1035.5
  6. Brown University – 884
  7. Cornell University – 701.5
  8. Dartmouth College – 525.5

3x title defending champions, Harvard was a dominating force at the 2019 Men’s Ivy League Championships as they won their 26th Ivy League Swimming and Diving title. One particular swimmer that was key to Harvard’s meet championship title was Dean Farris, who earned 96 points for the Crimson men. Further down the scoreboard, Columbia was behind Yale after yesterday’s finals. Yet, the Lions were able to pull ahead of the bulldogs with valuable points scored in tonight’s men’s 200 fly landing them ahead of Yale.

Men’s 200 Back

Princeton’s senior Cole Buese earned 32 points for the Tigers and took home a championship title in the men’s 100 back with a time of 1:43.35. Second place went to Harvard’s Daniel Tran finishing with a time of 1:44.32. Brown’s Colely Sullivan took home bronze in the event with a time of 1:44.54. It was a battle between fourth and fifth place. However, Penn’s Mark Blinstrub out-touched Yale’s Cristian Bell by seven hundredths of a second with a time of 1:45.50 with Bell right behind him at 1:45.57. Sixth place went to Columbia’s Joseph Licht with a time of 1:45.78. Walden O’Brien from Princeton finished in seventh with a time of 1:46.74, and eighth place went to Cornell’s Van Cates who touched the wall at 1:46.99.


Men’s 100 Free

A force not to be reckoned with, junior Dean Farris, takes home gold for Harvard once again in the men’s 100 free. Farris finished with a time of 41.42, earning himself a new Ivy League meet record and an NCAA Division I A qualifying time. Second place went to Yale’s Henry Gaissert swimming a time of 42.86. Penn’s Thomas Dillinger finished in third with a time of 43.03. Raphael Marcoux from Harvard finished in fourth place with a time of 43.10. Fifth place went to Brown’s Cody Cline touching the wall at 43.20. Princeton’s Murphy McQuet finished in sixth with a time of 43.50. Seventh place went to Columbia’s Nianguo Liu finishing with a time of 43.57. Finally, wrapping up the A final of the men’s 100 free was eighth place finisher Albert Gwo from Columbia posting a time of 43.71.


Men’s 200 Breast

Finishing nearly two seconds ahead of the rest of the pack, Penn senior Mark Andrew took home a gold in the men’s 200 breast with a time of 1:54.38. His first 50 split was a 25.45, putting him in the lead of the event right from the start. It was a close race between Penn’s Boris Yang hitting the wall one hundredth of a second earlier than Harvard’s Daniel Chang. Yang finished in second with a time of 1:56.33 while Chang finished in third with a time of 1:56.34. Fourth place went to Princeton’s Daniel Arris finishing in a time of 1:57.54. Yale’s Calvin Yang finished in fifth with a time of 1:57.93. Sam Pekarek from Yale finished in sixth place with a time of 1:58.68. Seventh place went to Columbia’s David Wang with a time of 2:01.58, and finishing up the top eight was yet another Columbia swimmer, Pearce Kieser, touching the wall at 2:01.59.


Men’s 200 Fly

The men’s 200 fly turned out to be a throw down for new faces at the 2019 Men’s Ivy League Championships. The event included two freshman within the A final, both of them earning gold and silver medals.

Freshman Raunak Khosla from Princeton took home gold in the men’s 200 fly with a time of 1:42.05, marking a new Ivy League meet record. Trailing behind in second place was another freshman swimmer from Harvard, Jacob Johnson, who finished with a time of 1:42.72. Columbia’s Shane Brett touched the wall at 1:43.40, finishing in third. Sean Lee from Penn landed in fourth place with a time of 1:44.23. Sixth place went to Dartmouth’s Connor LaMastra swimming a time of 1:44.35. In sixth place was Harvard’s Michael Zarian posting a time of 1:44.38. Seventh place went to Yale’s Patrick Frith swimming a time of 1:45.91, and in eighth was Princeton’s Derek Cox finishing with a time of 1:48.30.


Men’s 3-meter Diving

Your 2019 Men’s Ivy League 3-meter diving champion is sophomore from Columbia Jonathan Suckow. Suckow scored 442.35 points in the event well ahead of second place by 86 points. The silver medal went to Princeton’s Colten Young scoring 356.70 points. Only one point behind Young was Dartmouth’s Justin Sodokoff with 355.80 points. Yale’s Chrisitan DeVol came in fourth with 346.70 points. Hal Watts from Harvard scored 314.05 points landing him in fifth place. Sixth place went to Princeton’s Charile Minns scoring 311.0 points. In seventh was Penn’s James Hopper scoring 298.55 points, and just behind Hopper wrapping up the top eight of the final diving event of the meet was Brown’s Trevor Labuda scoring 297.00 points.

Men’s 400 Free Relay

The final event of the Men’s 2019 Ivy League Championships proved to be a showdown between Penn, Harvard and Yale as they battled out for spots in the top three of the event. Penn swimmers Thomas Dilinger, Mark Andrew, Sean Lee and Mark Blinstrub beat Harvard to the wall by nearly four hundredths of a second finishing in 2:52.26. Blinstrub anchored the relay with a solid 43.06 split, taking the Penn men home to a first place victory in the event. Harvard was shortly behind, finishing with a time of 2:52.71. Just behind Harvard were the Yale bulldogs finishing with a time of 2:52.79. Henry Gaissert put some pressure on the Harvard men’s toward the end of the race splitting a quick 42.01, but Harvard’s anchor Brennan Novak managed to hit the touch pad just eight hundredths of a second sooner.