2018 FINA World Cup Tokyo: Multiple Swimmers Climb Work Rankings at Day Three Prelims

kosuke hagino
Photo Courtesy: Delly Carr

Editorial content for the FINA World Swimming Cup is sponsored by TritonWear. Visit TritonWear.com for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check event coverage page.

The final morning of the 2018 FINA World Cup Tokyo stop featured nine preliminaries and two timed finals. Both Kosuke Hagino and Katinka Hosszu could potentially double up on wins on day three while swimmers like Vlad Morozov and Kirill Prigoda will focus on one event after quick swims this morning.

Live Results

Women’s 800 Freestyle

Mahiro Ishii put up the quickest 800 Freestyle with one heat remaining at finals. Her time was 8:27.45 ahead of Franziska Hentke (8:30.36) and Mia Yamamoto (8:33.19). All three swims have the potential to place in the top eight.

Men’s 400 IM

Kosuke Hagino posted the second-fastest time in the world this year in the early heats of the men’s 400 IM. His time of 4:01.93 could win the whole event despite a strong field in the final including David Verraszto, Ippei Watanabe and Travis Mahoney. Keiya Tamaru (4:09.08) and Ippei Miyamoto (4:09.22) also posted times that could land in the top eight.

Women’s 100 Butterfly

Sarah Sjostrom cruised to the top seed in the 100 Butterfly in 56.73 ahead of Zhang Yufei (56.93) and Rikako Ikee (57.41). Nao Kobayashi (57.62), Sayane Ueno (57.65), Ai Souma (57.73), Alia Atkinson (57.79) and Anna Shinno (57.81) will also race in the final.

Men’s 50 Butterfly

Dylan Carter took the top seed in the men’s butterfly race coming in at 22.66. USA’s Michael Andrew was second with a season best of 22.76. The swims move the swimmers to fifth and eighth in the world rankings. He was followed by Kousuke Matsui (22.82) and Vlad Morozov (22.93). Naoki Mizunuma (22.98), Yuuya Tanaka (23.01), Kengo Ida (23.01) and Takeshi Kawamoto (23.05) placed fifth through eighth.

Women’s 200 Backstroke

Minna Atherton continued her successful meet with the top time in the 200 Backstroke. A 2:04.58 was enough to get the edge over Katinka Hosszu who raced to a 2:04.97. Marina Furubayashi was third in 2:05.10 and Emily Seebohm was fourth in 2:05.56.

They will be joined by Rio Shirai (2:05.66), Rika Yuhara (2:06.00), Liu Yaxin (2:06.45) and Mayuko Gotou (2:06.54).

Men’s 100 Backstroke

Australia’s Mitchell Larkin swam a quick 50.18 in the 100 Backstroke. The swim is only two tenths off his season best from Budapest. China’s Xu Jiayu was next in 50.46, the fifth-best time in the world this year. Masaki Kaneko was third in 51.27 and Germany’s Christian Diener was fourth in 51.33. Andrew (51.33), Hayate Matsubara (51.62), Mahoney (51.68) and Yuuma Edo (51.74) will round out the final.

Women’s 50 Breaststroke

Yulia Efimova and Atkinson have set up another breaststroke battle after going 30.23 and 30.30 in the prelims of the 50 distance. Siobhan O’Connor from Great Britain is also in the mix at 30.42 as is Seebohm in 30.78. Yuki Takasaki (31.16), Vitalina Simonova (31.37), Rikke Pedersen (31.39) and Ayumi Kishi (31.41) also qualified for the final.

Men’s 200 Breaststroke

Kirill Prigoda kept the fast swimming going on the men’s side with a 202.79 in the 200 Breaststroke. The swim is one second off his season best from Budapest as well. Australia’s Matthew Wilson did not waste any time either coming in at 2:03.89, the sixth-fastest time in the world this year. Anton Chupkov took a more relaxed approach coming in at 2:04.20 for third.

Hiromasa Fujimori (2:04.70), Marco Koch (2:04.97), Ilya Shymanovich (2:05.34), Watanabe (2:05.37) and Yasuhiro Takahashi (2:05.55) placed fifth through eighth.

Women’s 100 Freestyle

Pernille Blume led the way in the 100 Freestyle in 52.30. Femke Heemskerk will be one to watch in the final after posting a 52.58 for second. Ranomi Kromowidjojo was third in 52.61 and was followed by Zhu Menghui in 52.95. Sjostrom (53.02), Aya Satou (53.27), Tomomi Aoki (53.45) and Kira Toussaint (53.52) will also compete in the final.  

Men’s 200 Freestyle

Kyle Chalmers got to the wall first amongst a loaded 200 Freestyle field. His time of 1:43.89 was just ahead of Great Britain’s James Guy in 1:44.21. Carter was third in 1:44.44 while USA’s Blake Pieroni was fourth in 1:44.45.

Hagino (1:45.07), Wang Shun (1:45.15), Mack Horton (1:45.33) and Poul Zellmann of Germany (1:45.35) took the remaining positions in the final.

Women’s 200 IM

Hosszu led the 200 IM prelim from start to finish, racing to a 2:06.05 for the top seed. Ye Shiwen was next in 2:08.10. Yui Ohhashi was third in 2:08.36 and O’Connor took fourth in 2:08.93. Rika Oomoto (2:09.08), Hiroko Makino (2:09.38), Seebohm (2:09.50) and Sakiko Shimizu (2:10.14) will round out the heat.