Yarrison, Colwill Win One-Meter Crowns at Spring Diving Champs

BOYDS, Maryland, April 19. MARY Yarrison and Chris Colwill earned one-meter championships Wednesday night during the USA Diving Spring National Championships at the Germantown Indoor Swim Center. Yarrison produced a score of 287.10 to collect the first individual national crown of her career. She was followed by Christina Loukas, an Indiana University product who scored 280.45. The bronze medal went to Amanda Miller with a total of 274.55.

Colwill, who also won one-meter championships in 2004 and 2006, managed a score of 438.15 to run away from the field. The silver medal went to Terrence Horner with 379.05 points and Jason Coben was the bronze-medal winner with a score of 369.20.

"I thought I did pretty good," Colwill said. "I'm happy with my performance. I thought I dove OK, but after I hit my fourth dive, that really boosted my confidence.