Wisconsin Boys High School State Championships

By David Rieder

MADISON, Wisconsin, February 22. THE Wisconsin Boys High School State Championships took place at the University of Wisconsin Natatorium in Wisconsin on Friday, February 18 and Saturday, February 19.

Division 1 Results
Madison Memorial won two relays and one individual event on their way to clinching the overall meet title. Ben Anderson took the 50 free in 21.17, and he joined teammates John Hornacek, Jeremy Temprano, and Patrick Franken to win the 200 medley relay (1:36.21). Michael Salerno, Nick Menninga, Billy Walsh, and Franken took the 400 free relay in 3:10.74. Bay Port won the other relay, the 200 free, as Max VanEgeren, Teddy Stackman, Cody Dedow, and James Killian clocked 1:27.36.

Eau Claire North/Memorial’s Alex DeLakis took victories in both the 200 IM (1:51.55) and 100 breast (55.94). Appleton North/Appleton East’s Jake Lotte took first in the 1:42.45, while Greenfield/Greendale’s Jack Lennertz won the 100 fly (49.34). Watertown’s Nick Wolhaupter claimed the top spot in the 100 free (46.30), and Waukesha South/Catholic Memorial’s Noah Potratz got his hand on the wall first in the 500 free (4:37.59). Chippewa Falls/McDonell Center’s Austin Byrd completed the swimming wins with a 50.74 decision in the 100 back, while Menom Falls/Germantown/Hamilton’s Nathan Cox scored 350.50 points to win one meter diving.

Madison Memorial scored 234.5 points for first place, while Waukesha South/Catholic Memorial finished second with 192. Eau Claire Memorial/North scored 180 for third.

Division 2 Results
McFarland’s Ryan O’Donnell put on a show to lead his team to the overall championship. O’Donnell won the 200 IM in 1:49.01, crushing Neil Walker’s old record of 1:50.08 set all the way back in 1994. Walker would go on to make two U.S. Olympic swim teams and win four medals, two gold. O’Donnell returned to win the 100 fly in 49.52, clipping his state record of 49.74 from last year. O’Donnell led off McFarland’s victorious 200 medley relay team, consisting of Jake Mandli, Ryan Krattiger, and Geof Glover. The team clocked 1:36.22, clipping their state record of 1:36.36 from last year. Additionally, the team of O’Donnell, Max Schimanski, Collin Morgan, and Glover won the 400 free relay in 3:08.50. Finally, Mandli claimed an individual victory in the 100 breast (57.67).

Cedarburg’s Carl Newenhouse took first in the 200 free (1:42.84), and Fort Atkinson’s Evan Hill claimed the 50 free (21.48). Kiel’s Nic Halverson won the 500 free (4:43.74), while Madison Edgewood’s Drew tuDuits won the 100 back in 49.99, just off Walker’s 1994 record of 49.61. Monona Grove’s Jack Allen took the 100 free in 47.14 and later led his team of Andrew Sackett, Ben Weinhaus, and Aaron Pomeroy to victory in the 200 free relay. The foursome clocked 1:25.81, breaking the McFarland’s state record of 1:26.42 set last year.

McFarland edged Monona Grove for the meet win, 286 points to 279. Madison Edgewood ended up third with 202 points.

Comments Off on Wisconsin Boys High School State Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here