Western Athletic Conference Championships, Day Four

SAN ANTONIO, Texas, February 25. SAN Jose State won its first ever Western Athletic Conference Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship on Saturday night at the Palo Alto College Aquatic Center in San Antonio, Texas. The Spartans finished the meet with 728 points, followed by Northern Arizona with 622. Hawaii was third with 524, while New Mexico State placed fourth with 429. Nevada finished fifth with 377, followed by Fresno State (364), Idaho (318) and North Dakota (206).

San Jose State junior Marisa Dewames earned WAC Swimmer of the Year honors, the first such award for a Spartan. Nevada sophomore Grace Huang was named the WAC Diver of the Year, the first for the Wolf Pack since Kate Oines in 2002. San Jose State head coach Sage Hopkins earned the WAC Coach of the Year award, while Nevada’s Jian Li You was voted Diving Coach of the Year for the third time in her career. New Mexico State’s Aliena Schmidtke was awarded Freshman of the Year, the second straight season the Aggies had received the award.

In the first race of the night, Nevada’s Mengjiao Mi won the 1,650-yard freestyle with a time of 16:33.57, two seconds faster than her winning time from last year. Northern Arizona’s Emma Lowther was second (16:36.50) for the second straight year and her teammate, Caitlin Wright, placed third (16:44.01).

Northern Arizona’s Fi Connell won the 200 backstroke for the third straight year with a time of 1:56.56. Hawaii’s Christa Prior was second with a time of 1:56.91 while New Mexico State’s Tricia Kiss took bronze medal honors for the second straight year (1:58.81). All three times were NCAA consideration.

San Jose State junior Marisa Dewames won the 100 freestyle with a time of 49.05. New Mexico State freshman Aliena Schmidtke took the silver with a time of 49.28 while Hawaii’s Jasmine Alkhaldi was third (50.19). All three times were NCAA provisional marks.

San Jose State senior Kirsten Trammell won the 200 breaststroke in a time of 2:12.48 while her teammate, Darcie Anderson, was second (2:14.81). New Mexico State freshman Jessica Legge claimed the bronze in 2:15.47. Again, all three medalists along with the next two finishers, recorded NCAA provisional marks.

Northern Arizona sophomore Rachel Palmer won the title in the 200 butterfly in 1:58.82. San Jose State’s Julia Craddock placed second in 2:00.52. New Mexico State’s Beth Cate was third with a time of 2:02.00.

Fresno State sophomore Hannah Prigge won the platform diving with a score of 285.15. Nevada took the next two spots as Stephanie Hanson improved from last year’s fourth place finish to grab silver with a score of 272.55 while Grace Huang was third (248.80).

San Jose State topped off the competition by winning the 400 free relay in time of 3:18.88 with the team of Meghan McCurley, Kiley Foster, Erika Harvey and Dewames. New Mexico State took the silver (3:23.63) and Fresno Statewon the bronze in 3:24.77.

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at Newsmaster@swimmingworldmagazine.com. However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.