USA Diving Crowns First-Time Champions At Summer Nationals

IOWA CITY, Iowa, August 18. THE USA Diving nationals featured a few members of the country’s world championships team collecting titles in various events, though Sam Dorman was the highlight of the meet with three individual wins.

Dorman, who participated in the World University Games in July, was the men’s high point winner with three national titles — his first ever at the senior level. The junior at the University of Miami started the competition with a win in the 1-meter springboard with 412.15 points, followed by Michael Hixon with 400.90 points and Daran Schmidt with 396.80 points. Dorman also won the 3-meter springboard competition with 487.40 points. Hayden Jones was second with 466.55 points and Hixon was third with 442.45 points. Dorman wrapped up his meet with a victory in the men’s synchro three-meter event with Zac Nees, earning 390.33 points.

“It’s a dream come true,” Dorman said. “Before I came here, I thought about (winning three events), but I never expected this would actually happen. I’m speechless. I’ve worked so hard with (coach) Randy (Ableman) for this, and it’s great to see it’s finally paying off. We definitely nailed it today.”

The women’s 1-meter springboard featured three members of the world championship team on the medal podium. Maren Taylor won the event with a score of 296.10 points, followed by Deidre Freeman with 287.15 points and Amanda Burke with 285.45 points.

Freeman scored the win in the women’s 3-meter event with 303.40 points. With her silver in the 1-meter and gold in the synchro 3-meter with Kaylea Arnett (scoring 285.35 points), Freeman was named the women’s high point winner.

“Getting the high point award says a lot,” Freeman said. “I’m really just now starting to get to a high point in my career. I’m starting to peak, but I know I still have a lot of room for improvement. It’s been an amazing summer.”

Finishing second in the women’s 3-meter was Burke with 296.10 points and Taylor, with 285.50 points, placed third.

Murphy Bromberg was able to win the women’s platform with 371.45 points over world championship team member Amy Cozad, who scored 340.45 points. Cassie Weil was third with 333.70 points. Bromberg also teamed up with Cheyenne Cousineau for the synchro platform title with 291.27 points.

Steele Johnson won two events, teaming with David Dinsmore to win the men’s synchro platform competition with 424.92 points, then taking the individual platform title with 497.65 points. Dinsmore was runner-up in the individual platform event with 470.65 points, while Jordan Windle was third with 450.65 points.