Twenty Olympians to Lead Americans at Short Course World Championships

PHOENIX, Arizona, October 3. RYAN Lochte and Allison Schmitt, both multiple gold medalists from the 2012 Olympics, will be the headliners of the USA squad headed to Istanbul, Turkey, in December for the 2012 short course meters world championships.

Lochte will be looking to equal or improve his impressive medal haul from the 2010 edition, where he picked up six gold and one silver medal, the most of any person at a short course world championships. He also became the first person to break an individual world record since the ban of the techsuits, when he won the 400 individual medley. He would also break the world record in the 200 IM and nearly set another one in the 100 IM. Lochte is scheduled to swim the 50 and 100 butterfly, 200 free and 200 back, as well as the 100 and 200 IMs. This is keeping with his recent statement that he would be giving up the 400 IM.

As for Schmitt, this meet will be her first major short course meters competition. She's now in her senior year at the University of Georgia, and is coming off an impressive Olympic Games, where she won five medals, including gold in the 200 freestyle. Schmitt is the short course meters American record holder in the 200 free with a 1:52.08 from last year. She had previously swum a 1:51.67 at the 2009 Duel in the Pool, but that time was not ratified as the official American record, as USA Swimming had placed a ban on techsuits two months earlier for all swims done by Americans.

Other top names on the list include: Jessica Hardy, the short course world record holder in the 50 breaststroke; Josh Schneider, the American record holder in the short course meters 50 free and the reigning short course worlds bronze medalist in that event; Matt Grevers, the reigning Olympic champion in the 100 backstroke; Kathleen Hersey, the American record holder in the 200 butterfly and a two-time Olympian in the event.

In addition to Schmitt, several collegiate swimmers will compete in Turkey. Ellen Baumgardner (Arizona), Bonnie Brandon (Arizona), Maya DiRado (Stanford), Andrea Kropp (Southern California), Melanie Margalis (Georgia), Megan Romano (Georgia), Laura Sogar (Texas), Jasmine Tosky (Southern California) and Shannon Vreeland (Georgia) fill the women's roster. Kevin Cordes (Arizona), Ryan Feeley (Michigan), Michael McBroom (Texas), Tom Shields (UC-Berkeley), Steven Schmuhl (Indiana) and Michael Weiss (Wisconsin) will take time from their studies to help the American men in Turkey.

Among schools, Georgia will send the most swimmers (four women), with Arizona right behind (two females, one male). Competition begins December 12.

Full roster:


Ellyn Baumgardner 50/100 breast              Curl Burke Swim Club/Arizona
Bonnie Brandon    200 back                   Mission Aurora Colorado Swimming
Chelsea Chenault  4x200 free relay           Terrapins Swim Team
Maya Dirado       100/200/400 IM             Stanford Swimming
Claire Donahue    50/100 fly                 Western Kentucky University
Jessica Hardy     50/100 free, 50/100 breast Trojan Swim Club
Kathleen Hersey   50/100/200 fly             Longhorn Aquatics
Kara Lynn Joyce   50 free                    SwimMAC Carolina
Andrea Kropp      200 breast                 Rattler Swim Club/USC
Becca Mann        400 IM, 800 free           Clearwater Aquatic Team
Melanie Margalis  100/200 IM                 St. Petersburg Aquatics
Lia Neal          4x100 free relay           Asphalt Green Unified Aquatics
Megan Romano      100/200 fr, 50/100/200 bk  Athens Bulldog Swim Club
Allison Schmitt   200/400 fr,4x100 fr. rel.  North Baltimore Aquatic Club
Olivia Smoliga    50/100 back                Glenview Titan Aquatic Club
Laura Sogar       200 breast                 Bluefish Swim Club/Texas
Chloe Sutton      400/800 free               Mission Viejo Nadadores
Jasmine Tosky     200 fly                    Palo Alto Stanford Aquatics
Shannon Vreeland  4x200 free relay           Athens Bulldog Swim Club


Mike Alexandrov   50/100 breast              Trojan Swim Club
Bobby Bollier     200 fly                    Stanford Swimming
Clark Burckle     200 breast                 Tucson Ford Dealer Aquatics
Kevin Cordes      50/100 breast              University of Arizona
Conor Dwyer       100/200 IM, 200/400 free   Lake Forest Swim Club/Gator
Mark Dylla        200 fly                    Athens Bulldog Swim Club
Anthony Ervin     50 free                    California Aquatics
Ryan Feeley       1500 free                  University of Michigan
Jimmy Feigen      4x100 free relay           Longhorn Aquatics
Matt Grevers      100 free, 50/100 back      Tucson Ford Dealer Aquatics
Ben Hesen         50/100 back                Pacesetter Aquatics/Gator
Charlie Houchin   4x200 free relay           Unattached/ Bolles School Sharks
Michael Klueh     400 free                   FAST Swim Team
Ryan Lochte       200 fr,200 bk,50/100 fl,100/200 IM Daytona Beach Swimming/Gator
Michael McBroom   1500 free                  The Woodlands Swim Team/Texas
Matt McLean       4x200 free relay           FAST Swim Team
Ryan Murphy       200 back                   Bolles School Sharks
Tyler Reed        4x100 free relay           Southern Kentucky Swim Club
Tom Shields       50/100 fly                 California Aquatics
Josh Schneider    50 free                    SwimMAC Carolina
Steven Schmuhl    400 IM                     Indiana University
Garrett Weber-Gale 4x100 free relay          Longhorn Aquatics
Scott Weltz       200 breast                 Marin Pirates
Michael Weiss     400 IM                     Wisconsin Aquatics
Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial