Todd DeSorbo Named College Coach of the Year by USOPC

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Todd DeSorbo Named College Coach of the Year by USOPC

The United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee on Thursday named Todd DeSorbo its national college coach of the year.

The USOPC honored eight coaches and staffers in its annual awards for outstanding leadership across Olympic sports. DeSorbo and other winners were nominated by their national governing bodies and selected by a panel.

DeSorbo led the University of Virginia’s women’s swimming and diving team to its fourth consecutive NCAA Championship this spring, after having led the Cavaliers to become the first ACC team to win a title in 2021. It is just the third program to four-peat in program history. He helped Kate Douglass earned CSCAA’s Women’s Swimmer of the Meet in 2023. DeSorbo will lead the U.S. women’s team as head coach at this summer’s Paris Olympics.

From the release:

His coaching philosophy, which emphasizes holistic training encompassing physical, mental, and lifestyle aspects, has earned him the head coach position for USA Swimming’s Olympic women’s swimming team at the Olympic Games Paris 2024. His unique approach, characterized by a balance of hard work, enjoyment, and support, has fostered a team culture where athletes feel empowered and motivated, contributing to both individual and team successes. 

All eight honorees exhibit similar excellence in “creating significant impact in their sport and NGB throughout the year.”

“Our coaches and support staff are the backbone of Team USA, driving success from the grassroots level to the global stage,” USOPC chief of sport and athlete services Rocky Harris said in a press release. “Their tireless efforts continue to elevate our athletes, their National Governing Bodies, and Team USA as a whole. As we applaud the remarkable accomplishments of 2023, we gratefully commend all eight individual award winners and their steadfast dedication to excellence in and around their sport.”

Other honorees include:

  • Olympic Coach of the Year: Jenni Meno-Sand, figure skating
  • Paralympic Coach of the Year: Ellen Minzner, rowing
  • Developmental Coach of the Year: Dr. Robert Park, archery
  • College Coach of the Year: Todd DeSorbo, swimming
  • Volunteer Coach of the Year: Patrick Wentland, speedskating
  • Service Provider of the Year: Dr. Caroline Silby, figure skating
  • Coach Educator of the Year: Richard Guy Krueger, archery
  • Doc Counsilman Science and Technology Award: Garrett Lucash, figure skating
Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x