Texas Long Course Senior Circuit: Ricky Berens, Laura Sogar Win On First Day

By David Rieder

COLLEGE STATION, Texas, June 7. AMERICAN Olympian Ricky Berens earned a victory during the first night of finals at the Texas Senior Circuit meet on the campus of Texas A&M in College Station. Other top swimmers earning victories included recent Texas grads Laura Sogar and Michael McBroom

Berens, representing Longhorn Aquatics, came up with a win in the men's 100 free. Berens pulled away from Longhorn teammates Dax Hill and Garrett Wewber-Gale on the back half and touched in 49.55. That stands as his top time of the season, besting the 49.76 he clocked at the Arena Grand Prix in Charlotte last month. Hill ended up taking second in 50.25, while Weber-Gale finished third in 50.69.

Longhorn's Sogar beat out Olympian Breeja Larson to take first in the women's 200 breast. Sogar touched in 2:26.60, barely missing her season best, a 2:26.53 she recorded last week in Santa Clara. Notably, she turned at the 150 about a half second faster than her pace last week before fading down the stretch. Aggie's Larson finished second in 2:28.38, finishing almost 10 seconds ahead of the next finisher. Metro's Vanessa Pearl ended up third in 2:38.35.

Longhorn's Christian Schurr dominated the men's 200 breast, picking up the win in 2:18.88. Teammate Matt Korman grabbed second in 2:23.23, and Coastal Bend's Arthur Cheng took third in 2:28.05. Notably, 52 year old David Guthrie finished eighth in 2:34.82. Guthrie had been gunning at his Masters' world record, a 2:32.55 from August of 2012, but he fell a couple seconds short.

Aggie's Liliana Ibanez Lopez touched out teammate Caroline McElhany to win the women's 50 fly, 28.40 to 28.46, while Race's Raena Eldridge finished a close third at 28.54. Ibanez Lopez doubled up in the women's 100 free in 55.84, while a pair of Longhorn's finished 2-3. Sarah Denninghoff came in second at 56.32, and Sam Tucker touched third in 56.95.

Reid Elliott won the men's 50 fly in 26.24, while Dads' Michael Miller touched out teammate Jason Bo for second, 26.92 to 26.94. Longhorn's Quinn Carrozza took the women's 200 back in 2:14.44, followed by teammate Victoria Cassidy in 2:18.69. Nitro's Regan Barney took third in 2:20.41. Minnesota's Christopher Johnson grabbed the win in the men's 200 back in 2:06.60. Longhorn's Ian LaMaistre finished second in 2:09.16, and Nitro's Zach Thomas came in third at 2:09.59.

Aggie's Sarah Henry used a strong final lap to overtake Metro's Sammie Hashbarger and win the women's 400 free. Henry touched in 4:19.52, beating out Hashbarger's 4:19.73. Dads' Alexandra Buscher ended up third in 4:22.11. Longhorn's Michael McBroom wrapped up the night with a dominating win in the 400 free. The runner-up at the NCAA Championships in both the 500 and 1650 free, McBroom edged his previous season best, a 3:50.77 from Charlotte with a 3:50.68. Metro's Sam Lewis finished second in 4:05.47, and Longhorn's Reid Walker finished third in 4:05.87.