Texas’ Laura Sogar Scores Upset With 200 Breast Triumph

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 23. TEXAS' Laura Sogar finally slayed the dragon that has become Breeja Larson in the 200-yard breast with a victorious effort at the NCAA Division I Women's Championships.

Sogar pushed the pace early and kept the pressure on Larson throughout the race as both were well under Larson's NCAA and American record pace at the 150-yard mark with 1:31 splits. Sogar then had way more in the tank than the rest of the field as she touched in 2:05.41 for the win. She split the race 27.99, 59.68, 1:31.88, 1:05.73. That's the ninth-fastest swim ever, and it came from lane one as Sogar provided some outside smoke this evening.

That's Texas' third title in the longer distance breaststroke, as Sogar joins Kim Rhodenbaugh (1985) and Dorsey Tierney (1991) as Longhorn victors in the event. 2011 champion Haley Spencer snuck into second with a 2:06.15, throwing down a 32.20 final split. Larson, meanwhile, wound up third with a 1:06.79 after turning in a 34.46 in the final 50.

Georgia's Annie Zhu (2:06.69), Notre Dame's Emma Reaney (2:06.77), California's Caitlin Leverenz (2:07.41), USC's Andrea Kropp (2:07.62) and Texas A&M's Ashley McGregor (2:09.67) comprised the rest of what might be the fastest 200-yard breaststroke heat in history. Columbia's Katie Meili earned the B final win in 2:08.00.

Georgia cracked 400 points as the Bulldogs kept rolling toward their first team title since 2005, owning a leading tally with 402 points. California still stood second with 337 points, while Texas A&M jumped to third with 281.5 points. Florida (279), Tennessee (278.5) and Arizona (277) held fourth through sixth.