Texas A&M’s Cammile Adams Finally Wins 200 Fly

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 23. AFTER two years of finishing runner-up to Katinka Hosszu in the 200-yard fly, Texas A&M's Cammile Adams turned in a sizzling time of 1:52.61 to win the event at the NCAA Division I Women's Championships.

That swim nearly cleared her lifetime best of 1:52.40 that ranks her eighth all time in the event's history, and made her the first Aggie winner in the 200 fly ever at the NCAA Championships.

Georgia's Lauren Harrington finished well behind in 1:54.39, but that's not nearly the largest margin of victory in the event. The legendary Mary T. Meagher owns that record with an astounding 4.39-second victory ahead of Texas' Kara McGrath in 1986, 1:54.52 to 1:58.91. Yes, Meagher would have finished third this year as North Carolina's Carolyn Blalock touched third this evening in 1:54.65.

North Carolina's Meredith Hoover (1:54.75), Southern California's Jasmine Tosky (1:55.11), California's Rachel Bootsma (1:55.57), West Virginia's Amanda Nugent (1:55.61) and Louisville's Tanja Kylliainen (1:57.22) comprised the rest of the top eight. Yale's Alex Forrester raced to the B final win in a swift 1:54.49, which would have placed her third in the A final.

Georgia pushed its first-place team tally to 423 points, while California stood second with 350 points. Texas A&M kept adding to its third-place total, moving to 301.5 points. Florida (279), Tennessee (278.5) and Arizona (277) rounded out the top six.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x