Tampa Men and Florida Southern Women On Top After Day One of SSCs

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

By Delaney Lanker, Swimming World College Intern

Day one finals of the Sunshine State Conference Championships were swam tonight. The men’s and women’s 1000 free, 200 IM, 50 free and 200 medley relay were swum.

In the women’s 1000 free Florida Southern’s Alli Crenshaw won the event with a 10:08.82. Makayla Ayers of Tampa went a 10:10.95 for second place and Lynn’s Catalina Galea took the bronze with a 10:13.23.

Daniel Bis from St. Leo won the men’s 1000 free tonight with a 9:11.21. Nova Southeastern’s Blake Woodrow took the silver with a 9:12.50 and Tommy Reminger of Tampa finished with a 9:20.26 for third place.

In the women’s 200 IM, Rebecca Matthews of Lynn won the event with a 2:02.07, which was still two seconds off her SSC record set last year. St. Leo took the second and third place spots on the podium. Malin Westman came in with a 2:04.38 for second and right behind her was teammate, Nicole Weber who came in third place with a 2:04.88.

St. Leo’s Pawel Trenda won the men’s 200 IM in the time of 1:46.87. Nova Southeastern’s Marco Aldabe came in for the silver with a 1:48.54 and Antonio Nunez from Florida Southern took bronze with a 1:49.28.

Tampa’s Marisa Barton won the women’s 50 free with a 23.03. Close behind her was Florida Southern’s Kelsey Gouge with a 23.32 and Nova Southeastern’s Sydney Panzarino finished in a 23.48 for third place on the podium.

In the men’s 50 free, Nir Barnea of Florida Tech won with a 19.98, only a tenth behind Thiago Sickert‘s 2015 SSC record of 19.88 for Nova. Sickert placed second tonight with a 20.00 and Tampa’s Martin Hammer came in a close third with a 20.06.

Nova Southeastern won the women’s 200 medley relay. The team of Courtney DeVeny (26.47), Westman (28.33), Jordan Shows (25.19) and Panzarino (22.96) went a 1:42.95 for the gold. Lauren Reynolds (26.55), Jacinda Whittenburg (29.58), Krystal Karas (25.12) and Brittany Aubley (23.62) took second place for Florida Southern with a 1:44.87. St. Leo came in third (1:45.43) with Maftuna Tuhtasinova (26.98), Weber (29.64), Natalia Garriock (24.69) and Isabella Bains (24.12).

Tampa’s men’s team won the 200 medley relay. Their team of Jordan Augier (23.17), Wayne Denswil (24.99), Runar Borgen (20.87) and Hammer (19.60) went a 1:28.63 for the win. Florida Southern took second (1:28.82) with Marco Palacios (22.73), Sean Kim (24.39), Edson Lima (21.57) and Diego Gimenez (20.13). Nova Southeastern took bronze (1:29.56) with David Van Der Colff (23.17), Anton Lobanov (24.31), Victor Tarin (21.75) and Malique Elder (20.33).

Men Team Scores

1.Tampa 151.5
2.Nova Southeastern 146.5
3.Florida Tech 139
4.Florida Southern 136.5
5.Saint Leo 115.5
6.Rollins 34

Women Team Scores

1.Florida Southern 195
2.Nova Southeastern 177.5
3.Tampa 129.5
4.Saint Leo 89
5.Lynn 81
6.Florida Tech 44
7.Rollins 35

Comments Off on Tampa Men and Florida Southern Women On Top After Day One of SSCs

Author: Delaney Lanker

Delaney Lanker is a junior at Northeastern University studying journalism. She is a butterflier and captain of their NCAA Division I team. Before college, she swam for the Colorado Stars.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here