Sydney Pickrem Goes 2:08 In 200IM & Tom Dean Wins 200 Free As Inaugural AP Race London International Meet Wraps Up

Sydney Pickrem; Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Sydney Pickrem and Tom Dean shone on the third and final day as the inaugural  AP Race London International Meet concluded at the Aquatics Centre.

The meet – at the venue that hosted the pool programme at the 2012 London Olympics – featured international and domestic swimmers through to grassroots initiatives.

The AP Race London International Meet  featured three sessions: morning prelims with the B and junior finals in the afternoon and Super Finals in the evening with club swimmers alongside Olympic and world medallists.

AP Race London International Meet: Men’s Events

The men’s 200 free was the final event of the meet and had a quality line-up including Olympic champion Dean, European silver medallist Felix Auboeck, British champion Matt Richards, winner of the 100 free on Saturday, and European mixed 4×2 champion Jacob Whittle.


Tom Dean: Photo Courtesy: Andrea Staccioli / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Rio 2016 silver medallist Chad le Clos was fourth in the heats but didn’t contest the final.

Richards led the field throughout and was 0.21 ahead of Dean at the final turn before the double Olympic gold medallist went past the Welshman with a 25.85 final 50 to touch in 1:46.09.

Richards was second in 1:46.73 with Auboeck completing the podium in 1:48.69.

Dean left London with gold in the 200 free and 200IM as well as silver in the 100 behind Richards.

The Super Finals kicked off with the 800 free where Dan Wiffen was the only man inside 8mins, coming home in 7:47.52 for the fourth-fastest time in his career.

Olympic silver medallist Arno Kamminga set a season’s best of 2:09.34 in the 200 breaststroke for the 14th-fastest time in the world this year and completed the 100-200 double in the process.

Dylan Carter added the 50 fly to the 50 free in 23.21 and Elliot Clogg won the 100 back in 55.97

AP Race London International Meet: Women’s Events

Sydney Pickrem – the 2019 world bronze medallist – won the 200IM in 2:08.89, the seventh-fastest time in the world this year.

It was the Canadian’s second-best performance in 2023 following her 2:08.61 at the Canadian world trials.

Lara van Niekerk: Photo Courtesy: Anton Geyser/SouthAfricanSportsImages

Commonwealth record-holder Lara van Niekerk won the 50 breaststroke in 30.62 ahead of Sophie Hansson (30.86) and Tes Schouten in third, the Netherlands swimmer taking her third medal of the meet in 31.54 to follow up her 100-200 double.

Catie Deloof added 100 free gold to 50 silver in 54.04 ahead of Anna Hopkin (54.33) and Kornelia Fiedkiewicz (54.45).

Louise Hansson dominated the 100 fly in 57.96

Holly Robinson took the 200 back in 2:19.74 and Ella Dyson won the 800 in 8:49.23 ahead of 1500 winner Alice Dearing (8:50.08).