Arno Kamminga & Anna Hopkin Among The Winners On Day One Of Inaugural AP Race London International Meet

Arno Kamminga: Photo Courtesy: Andrea Staccioli / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Arno Kamminga & Anna Hopkin Among The Winners On Day One Of Inaugural AP Race London International Meet

Arno Kamminga and Anna Hopkin were among the winners on the first day of the inaugural AP Race London International Meet at the Aquatics Centre.

The meet – at the venue that hosted the pool programme at the 2012 Olympics – features international and domestic swimmers through to grassroots initiatives.

The event is the brainchild of three-time Olympic champion Adam Peaty and Ed Baxter, the founders of the AP brand which has been delivering race clinics since 2019.

Peaty was originally slated to compete in London but withdrew from all competition in March ahead of the World Championship trials to focus on his mental health recovery.

The meet features three sessions: morning prelims with the B and junior finals in the afternoon and Super Finals in the evening with club swimmers alongside Olympic and world medallists.

Each athlete earns points for their performance with Dan Wiffen (915pts) and Tes Schouten (908) heading the leaderboard after day one.

Men’s Events

Kamminga won the 100m breaststroke in 59.04, despite having been 0.50secs behind Lucas Matzerath at halfway.

The German was second in 59.12, the duo the only men inside the minute mark.

Chad le Clos took the 100 fly in 52.05 ahead of Bryan Leong of the Chelsea and Westminster club who clocked 53.02.

Dylan Carter, fresh from a fine Mare Nostrum tour, won the 50 free in 22.24 ahead of Matt Richards (22.35) and New Zealander Carter Swift (22.81).

Dan Wiffen, the fifth-fastest man in 1500 history following his 14:34.91 last month in Stockholm, led home twin brother Nathan in 14:57.30 to 15:45.71.

George Pearson, a 17-year-old representing Wycombe District, was third home in 16:51.47.

Eliot Clogg took the 200 back in 2:01.13 while Edward Marcal Whittles of Chelsea and Westminster won the 400IM in 4:28.04.

Women’s Events

Anna Hopkin led home Loughborough training mate Catie Deloof by 0.03 in the women’s 50 free, the Briton winning in 24.84 to 24.87.

Emily Large – headed to the World Championships in Fukuoka in July – won the 200 fly in 2:10.26 ahead of Dane Mia Borgensgaard (2:18.97) with 15-year-old Alicia Bethell of Wycombe District joining them on the podium in 2:26.64.

Dutch record holder Tes Schouten won the 200 breaststroke in 2:24.25, leading home Sydney Pickrem (2:25.67) and Sophie Hansson (2:26.71).

Lauren Cox won the 50 back in 27.97 ahead of Swede Louise Hansson (28.90) while Paige Madden took the 400 free in 4:08.66.


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x