Stephanie Peacock, Elizabeth Beisel Duel in 500 Free; Plenty of Other A Cuts in Columbus

COLUMBUS, Ohio, November 30. THE initial evening of competition at the Ohio State Invitational featured plenty of NCAA A cuts on offer. Additionally, UNC's Stephanie Peacock and Florida's Elizabeth Beisel had an epic 500 free duel, while Notre Dame's Emma Reaney shined.

Florida's Natalie Hinds, Ellese Zalewski, Lindsey McKnight and Kaitlin Frehling topped the women's 200 free relay in 1:29.49, while Wisconsin's Ivy Martin, Ruby Martin, Rebecka Palm and Aja Van Hout touched second in 1:30.55. Stanford's Maddy Schaefer, Julia Ama, Maya Dirado and Andi Murez placed third in 1:30.82.

Ohio State's Jason Schnur, Zach Birnbrich, Zach Holmes and Tim Phillips claimed the men's 200 free relay in 1:17.84, while Florida's Bradley deBorde, Matt Curby, Christian Homer and Richard Munch placed second in 1:19.94. Florida's B team of Marcin Cieslak, Sebastien Rousseau, Eduardo Solaeche Gomez and Levar Goossen earned third in 1:21.12.

North Carolina's Stephanie Peacock touched out Florida's Elizabeth Beisel, 4:34.42 to 4:34.54, in the women's 500 free as both swimmers punched their tickets to NCAAs with A cuts. Florida's Jess Thielmann wound up third in 4:39.97. Ohio State's Alex Miller won the men's 500 free in 4:19.51, while Wisconsin's Michael Weiss took second in 4:21.23. Florida's Connor Signorin earned third in 4:21.68.

Notre Dame's Emma Reaney went back to back with 1:55s. First clocking a 1:55.27 in prelims before winning the women's 200 IM title in 1:55.05 this evening. Both swims bettered the NCAA A cut of 1:56.13. Stanford's Maya Dirado touched second in 1:56.19, just missing the cut, while UNC's Cari Blalock placed third in 1:58.40. Florida's Sebastien Rousseau earned an A cut of his own with a 1:44.02 to win the men's 200 IM. The Gators went 1-2-3 as Dan Wallace (1:44.94) and Eduardo Solaeche Gomez (1:45.67) completed the podium. Notably, Marcin Cieslak won the B final in 1:45.34.

Stanford's Maddy Schaefer earned the women's 50 free title in 22.18, while Wisconsin's Ivy Martin took second in 22.49. Florida's Natalie Hinds placed third in 22.52. Florida's Bradley deBorde won the men's 50 free in 19.54, while OSU's Jason Schnur (19.98) and Zack Birnbrich (20.11) took second and third.

Stanford's Maddy Schaefer, Katie Olsen, Maya Dirado and Andi Murez won the women's 400 medley relay in 3:33.73, while Notre Dame's Kelly Ryan, Emma Reaney, Kim Holden and Cat Galletti took second in 3:35.16. Florida's Elizabeth Beisel, Hilda Luthersdottir, Natalie Hinds and Jamie Bohunicky earned third in 3:36.62. Ohio State's Steven Zimmerman, Tyler Stevenson, Tim Phillips and Jason Schnur topped the men's 400 medley relay in 3:10.55. Florida's Christian-Paul Homer, Matt Elliott, Marcin Cieslak and Brad deBorde placed second in 3:11.60. Wisconsin's Drew Teduit, Michael Weiss, Dan Lester and Garrett Mulchrone picked up third in 3:15.82.

In diving, Purdue's Michelle Cabassol won the women's three-meter with 346.70 points, while Stanford's Kristian Ipsen lit up the men's one-meter with 384.15 points after posting 420.85 points in prelims.