Speedo Western Canadian Championships: Alex Komarnycky Doubles

EDMONTON, Canada, February 15. DURING the final night of short course meter swimming at the Speedo Western Canadian Championships, Alex Komarnycky claimed a pair of event titles.

Heather MacLean cruised in the women's 200 free for the title with a time of 1:58.66. Brittany Ozar finished second in 2:01.17, while Olivia Montgomery placed third in 2:01.57. Hassaan Abdel-Khalik followed in the men's 200 free with a winning time of 1:47.81. He just touched out Stefan Hirniak, who took second in 1:47.99. Karl Wolk captured third in 1:49.67.

After clearing the women's 50 breast Canadian record twice this weekend, Amanda Reason won the women's 100 breast in 1:08.10. Tianna Rissling took second in 1:09.26, while Bronwyn Pasloski placed third in 1:09.32. In another close call, Sean Nugent beat Eric Chan, 1:01.52 to 1:01.84, for the men's 100 breast crown. Bogdan Knezevic touched third in 1:02.17.

Komarnycky snared the women's 400 IM title in 4:43.93, while Deanna Matthews (4:44.26) and Rissling (4:53.90) rounded out the top three. David Dimitrov won the men's 400 IM in 4:22.05, while Anders McIntyre touched second in 4:23.69. Patrick Cowan placed third in 4:31.57.

Hilary Caldwell earned the women's 50 back title in 28.78, while Kimberly Fleming wound up second in 29.45. MacLean added to her 200 free victory with a third-place 29.48. Jeremy Ramshaw touched out Zack Zeiler, 26.12 to 26.22, for the men's 50 back crown. Craig Brazier claimed third in 26.44.

Kendra Chernoff cruised in the women's 100 fly with a top time of 59.50, while Brenna Maclean took second in 1:01.79. Kimberly Bowman snatched third in 1:01.90. In the men's 100 fly, Hirniak grabbed the title in 53.96. Wolk (54.42) and Manning (54.75) placed second and third.

Komarnycky returned in the women's 800 free for the win in 8:53.29. Siobhan Newell took second in 8:57.09, while Molly Grove finished third in 8:57.62. Meanwhile, Ryan Cochrane nearly cleared 15:00 in the men's 1500 free with a strong in-season time of 15:00.21. Abdel-Khalik placed second in 15:21.30, while Craig Dagnall finished third in 15:24.11.