Speedo Eastern Championships: Exciting Finishes Featured on Night Three

OTTAWA, Canada, February 20. THE third evening of short course meter swimming at the Speedo Eastern Championships showcased some exciting finishes in Ottawa.

Victoria Poon snagged the women's 100 free title in 54.07, while Amanda Reason finished second in 54.71. Sandrine Mainville wound up third overall in 55.40. Marc-Andre Benoit followed in the men's 100 free with a 50.41 for the win. Grant Harding touched second in 50.55, while Cameron Bailey earned third in 51.23.

Katerine Savard captured the women's 200 fly crown in 2:13.39, while Vanessa Charron took second in 2:13.97. Lindsay Seemann grabbed third in 2:14.72. In another exciting finish, Christopher Bezeau touched out Tim Ruse, 2:00.34 to 2:00.60, in the men's 200 fly. Jonathan Gagne took home third in 2:03.52.

Gabrielle Soucisse won the women's 200 back in 2:08.97, while Seemann took second in 2:12.40. Karah Stanworth-Belleville rounded out the top three in 2:13.91. In the 15-and-under heat, Brittany MacLean, 15, threw down a 2:09.23 for the win. Matt Hawes claimed a close victory over Graham Hawes, 1:58.07 to 1:58.54, in the men's 200 back. Ryan Cockell took third in 2:03.23.

Ashley McGregor touched out Michelle LaPrade, 31.66 to 31.67, in the women's 50 breast. Tera Van Beilen earned third in 31.78. Warren Barnes raced to victory in the men's 50 breast with a 28.54. Frederic Le Blanc pocketed second-place honors in 29.27, while Baptiste Bujold took third in 29.28.

The 15-and-under heat featured the best swims in the women's 400 free. Jacqueline Keire won in 4:10.87, while Lauren Earp finished second in 4:11.88. Seemann won the open title in 4:15.41, while Caroline Murray (4:16.81) and Bridget Coley (4:17.63) completed the top three. Cameron Bailey captured the men's 400 free in 3:54.86, while Austin Rockett took second in 3:57.14. Marc-Andre Ruel finished third in 3:57.21.

In relay action, CNPPO's Soucisse, Barbara Jardin, LaPrade and Poon won the women's 400 medley relay in 4:04.73. CNPPO also snagged the men's 400 medley relay title with a 3:44.30 from Charles Francis, Bezeau, Simon Boisvert and Benoit.