Southwest Classic Invitational: Meagen Nay Wins Three Golds

TUCSON, Arizona, June 5. DURING the second evening of long course meter action at the Southwest Classic Invitational in Tucson, Australia's Meagen Nay put on a show with three gold medals.

Nay first won the women's 100 free title by more than a second with a top time of 55.50. Meanwhile, Ford Aquatics' Lacey Nymeyer (56.51), Whitney Myers (56.64) and Leone Vorster (56.84) finished 2-3-4 behind her. Nay doubled up with a commanding victory in the women's 200 back. She touched the wall in 2:11.64 for the win, while Myers took second in 2:16.42. Ford's Ana Agy wound up third in 2:17.55.

Beijing Olympic star Stephanie Rice led an Australian 1-2 finish in the women's 400 free. She checked in with a 4:14.57 to cut more than 15 seconds from her prelim time. 16-year-old teammate Katie Goldman finished second in 4:15.82 with Vorster placing third in 4:16.66.

Julie Stupp stopped the bleeding for the U.S.-based swimmers on the women's side with a win in the women's 200 fly. Her 2:15.05 provided the only non-Aussie triumph of the night for the women. Zoe Johnson, 16, of Australia placed second in 2:17.66 with Ford's Dana Christ taking third in 2:19.77.

In relay action, Johnson, Belinda Parslow, Goldman and Nay won the women's 400 free relay in 3:47.18 to give Nay her title trifecta.

For the men, Matt Grevers paced a Ford Aquatics 1-2 in the men's 100 free with a 49.36. Joel Greenshields placed second in 49.85. Australia's Kenrick Monk took third in 50.05.

Australia's Robert Hurley walked away with a hard fought victory over Island's Ryan Cochrane, 3:50.25 to 3:50.54, in the men's 400 free. Meanwhile, Aussie Ryan Napoleon claimed third in 3:52.39.

Australia's Ashley Delaney raced to the win in the men's 200 back with a 1:58.93. Ford's Jack Brown took second in 2:04.52, while teammate Bryan O'Connor wound up third in 2:05.87.

Australia won another title when Sam Ashby posted a 2:02.51 in the men's 200 fly. Island's Stefan Hirniak picked up second in 2:03.14 with Australia's Shane Asbury settling for third in 2:04.02.

Ford's Nicolas Oliveira, Grevers, Simon Burnett and Greenshields combined to win the men's 400 free relay in 3:18.87.

Results: Southwest Classic Sr Invitational – (06-04-2009 – 06-07-2009)