Simon Cusack Named Australian Coach Of The Year By ASCTA

ASCTA Coach of the Year Simon Cusack with ASCTA President Tony Shaw, Photo Courtesy: GCB - Steve Holland

What a night of celebration at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre last night for the 2019 Australian Swimming And Teachers Annual Awards Banquet with over 250 people attending the second time both the cream of Australia’s Coaches and Teachers coming together.

The top gongs went to Australian Coach of the Year Simon Cusack for Cate Campbell’s 5-gold medal haul at the 2018 Pan Pacs and for Alpha Swim School’s Danielle Taylor taking our Teacher of the Year Swim Australia. The other big winner on the night was St Peters Western’s Head Coach Dean Boxall who carried out three awards – Outstanding Coaching Achievement for Ariarne Titmus’ WR in the 400m freestyle of 3:53.92 at the World SC Championships as well as the Australian Age and Youth Coach of the Year.

For Cusack it was the third time he has won the coveted award – joining such luminaries as John Carew, Scott Volkers, Doug Frost, Denis Cotterell, Ian Pope, Glenn Beringen, Michael Bohl, Peter Bishop and David Lush.

Michael Bohl, one of the most popular figures on the Australian Swimming Coaching and Teaching scene – a Platinum coach who has devoted more than 30 years to the sport he loves and last night he was recognised when elevated to Life Membership of ASCTA – receiving a standing ovation.


2019 Australian Swimming Coaches and Teachers Association Awards, Brisbane Convention Centre:

Swim Australia Supporters Awards: Vorgee, Dawn Fraser, Kids Alive, Bondi Rescue, In The Deep Swim School
Outstanding Community Service Awards: Alpha Learn To Swim (Danielle Taylor), 5-Star Swim Schools, Kirby Swim, Karrinyup
Best Swim School for Marketing, Promotion and Customer Service: Airlie Beach Swim School
Best Swim School For Innovation: Kirby Swim School Academy, CCGS
Teacher of the Year for Learners with Disability: Shad Royston (Above and Beyond Swim School, Gladstone)
Teacher of the Year Babies and Toddlers: Nerida Powell (5 Star Swim Schools NSW)
SwimSAFER Awards: Shannon Townsend (Glennie Toowomba); Terri-Anne Ransfield and Marina Burley, Kingswim (Mornington, VIC); Sunny Skye’s Swimming and Parties and Saltwater Aquatics – Tallebudgera
Meritorious Service to Teaching of Swimming in Australia: David Urry (SA)
Outstanding Contribution to Swimming In Australia: Kevin Hasemann (Swimming Qld)
Life Membership ascta: Michael Bohl (Griffith Unversity)
Masters Coach of the Year: Greg Lewis (Ryde AUSSI)
Open Water Coach of the Year: John Rodgers (Noosa Aquatic)
Multi-Class Coach of the Year: Andrew Howard (Cairns Central)
Age Group Coach of the Year: Dean Boxall (St Peters Western)
Youth Coach of the Year: Dean Boxall (St Peters Western)
Outstanding Coaching Achievement: Dean Boxall (St Peters Western)
Swim Australia Teacher of the Year: Danielle Taylor (Alpha Swim School)
Ascta Coach of the Year: Simon Cusack (Knox Pymble, NSW)

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with ACSTA. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact