Sherwood Girls, Richard Montgomery Boys Win 2016 Maryland 4A/3A State High School Championships

Photo Courtesy: Swimming World

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

The Sherwood girls and Richard Montgomery boys won the 2016 Maryland 4A/3A State High School Championships.


Sherwood topped the 4A/3A meet with 310.5 points.  Walter Johnson finished second with 237 points.  Winston Churchill (225.5), Northwest (200) and Montgomery Blair (193) finished third through fifth.

Winston Churchill’s Hannah Lindsey turned in a meet record 1:49.71 in the 200-yard free. Lindsey doubled up with a meet record 55.08 in the 100-yard back.

Walter Johnson’s Celine Nugent clocked a meet record 2:04.97 in the 200-yard IM.

Sherwood’s Morgan Hill posted a meet record 23.10 in the 50-yard free. Hill doubled up with a meet record 50.02 in the 100-yard free.

Montgomery Blair’s Hannah Kannan topped the meet record in the 100-yard fly with a 55.72.

Montgomery Blair’s Madison Waechter posted a meet record 4:53.48 to win the 500-yard free.

Northwest’s Jaycee Yegher raced to a meet record 1:02.74 in the 100-yard breast.

Sherwood’s Margarita Ryan, Erica Hjelle, Morgan Hill and Emma Eustace posted a meet record 1:46.00 in the 200-yard medley relay.

Walter Johnson’s Maya Drill, Celine Nugent, Kiki Bonetta-Misteli and Margaret Wolfson won the 200-yard free relay in 1:37.86.

Sherwood’s Sophia Ryan, Margarita Ryan, Jaimy Wenhold and Morgan Hill posted a meet record 3:31.64 in the 400-yard free relay.

Wootton’s Regan Westwood earned the one-meter diving crown with 415.55 points.


Richard Montgomery won the 4A/3A title with 319 points.  Winston Churchill (265.5), Bethesda CC (208), Walt Whitman (143) and Walter Johnson (143) made up the top five.

Winston Churchill’s Zachary Einhorn won the 200-yard free in 1:42.91.

Richard Montgomery’s Bouke Edskes set a meet record 1:52.73 in the 200-yard IM. Edskes doubled up with a 49.86 in the 100-yard fly.

North Point’s Matthew Essing turned in a meet record 21.15 in the 50-yard free.

Gaithersburg’s Brandon Cu raced to a 47.36 to win the 100-yard free.

Blake’s Matt Kenney posted a 4:41.24 to win the 500-yard free.

Walter Johnson’s Nozomi Horikawa won the 100-yard back in 51.82.

Quince Orchard’s Eli Fouts posted a meet record 56.05 to win the 100-yard breast.

Richard Montgomery’s Matt Nguyen, Kenny Afolabi-Brown, Bouke Edskes and Greg Afolabi-Brown set the meet record in the 200-yard medley relay with a 1:34.57.

Richard Montgomery’s Greg Afolabi-Brown, Bouke Edskes, Simon Li and Kenny Afolabi-Brown clocked a meet record 1:26.91 in the 200-yard free relay.

Bethesda CC’s Diego Suarez Touzon, Joseph Turi, Wyatt Fritz and Fielding Fischer won the 400-yard free relay in 3:12.98.

Winston Churchill’s Mory Gould won the one-meter diving title with 514.05 points.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x