Seven Records Broken as Ladue Horton Watkins Win Missouri Girls Class 1 State Championships

Ladue Horton Watkins
Photo Courtesy: Ladue Horton Watkins Swim Website

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2019 Missouri Girls Class 1 State Swimming and Diving Championships took place on Saturday, Feb. 16 at the St. Peters Rec-Plex in St. Peters, Mo.

The Class 1 record book was rewritten a total of seven times during this meet. After finishing fifth last year, Ladue Horton Watkins earned the team title this season with 216 points ahead of MICDS (191) and Webster Groves (188).

Click HERE for full results.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Ladue Horton Watkins – 216
2. MICDS – 191
3. Webster Groves – 188
4. Parkway West – 155
5. Glendale – 143

Central Cape Girardeau’s Ava Duncan (28.56), Bella Dennis (30.64), Allison McDonald (26.40) and Grace Sanders (25.20) began the meet by winning the 4×50 medley relay 1:50.80, just ahead of Ladue Horton Watkins (1:51.07) and Webster Groves (1:52.45).

Ladue Horton Watkins’ Paige Mitchell cruised to first in the 200 free in 1:51.16, just off Ellie Wehrmann’s Class 1 record of 1:51.01 set last year. Wehrmann of Incarnate Word Academy wound up second in 1:52.62 while Parkway West’s Maria Newton took third in 1:45.12.

Parkway West’s Lauren Beard took the top spot in the 200 IM, stopping the clock in 2:08.46 en route to breaking Andrea Rodgers’ Class 1 mark of 2:10.18 from last season. Incarnate Word Academy’s Emily Schroeder was second in 2:10.31 and Summit Prep’s Faith Guyer took a close third in 2:10.97.

For the second-straight year, St. Charles’ Autumn Looney splashed-and-dashed her way to the gold medal in the 50 free in a swift 23.71. Close behind was Summit Prep’s Maggie Moore in 23.80 for second while MICDS’ Abby Wickersham raced to third in 24.00.

Westminster Christian’s Margo O’Meara dove to first on the 1-meter board for the second year in a row, bettering her own Class 1 record of 499.80 with a final score of 520.25. Notre Dame de Sion’s Caroline Knopke was second with 397.70 points and Winnetonka’s Eden Viles dove to third with a score of 364.70.

Shortly after her win in the 50 free, Looney was back in the water to claim victory in the 100 fly. Her time of 55.01 was only two-hundredeths off her own Class 1 record of 54.99 she won with last season. MICDS’ Sophie Henriksen (56.93) and Battle’s Lauren Naeger (58.31) finished second and third, respectively.

Wehrmann successfully defended her title in the 100 free, stopping the clock in 51.93. Her prelims time of 51.69 eclipsed her own Class 1 record of 51.73 she set last year. Wickersham (52.20) and Glendale’s Ashley Baldwin (52.52) rounded out the top three finishers.

Mitchell added the 500 free gold medal to her hardware collection as the only swimmer in the field under five minutes. Her final time of 4:55.66 crushed Allison Weber’s Class 1 record of 5:05.41 and was just off the overall state mark of 4:54.94. Ursuline Academy’s Bella Snyder (5:05.07) and Logan-Rogersville’s Cabrini Johnson (5:10.64) followed.

MICDS’ Wickersham (24.03), Henrikson (24.26), Anna Scott Baur (25.13) and Alex Fox (25.26) combined to win the 4×50 free relay in 1:38.68 to break the previous Class 1 record of 1:40.01 set by St. Joseph Academy last year. Ladue Horton Watkins was also under the old mark in 1:39.41 for second and Webster Groves finished third in 1:41.51.

After taking second in the 50 free, Moore redeemed herself by winning the 100 back in 56.73. Also breaking the minute-marker was Henrickson in 56.80 for a close second and Ladue Horton Watkins’ Mary Dieckhaus in 58.89 for third.

Johnson got her hands to the wall the fastest in the 100 breast, touching in 1:04.71. Her prelims time of 1:04.09 set a new Class 1 record, breaking Abigail Levin’s old mark of 1:05.14 from last year. Clayton’s Kellen Mottl was second in 1:05.44 and third went to Pembroke Hills’ Audrey Lambert in 1:07.06.

MICDS’ Wickersham (52.04), Henriksen (52.70), Fox (55.28) and Scott Baur (54.66) concluded the meet with a bang by winning the 4×100 free relay in 3:34.68 to take down the old Class 1 record of 3:38.12. Second went to Ladue Horton Watkins (3:38.09) and third belonged to Webster Groves (3:40.69).

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x