SCAD Women Strong on Day Three Prelims of 2018 NAIA Championships

Photo Courtesy: SCAD Athletics

Editorial content for the 2018 NAIA Championship coverage is sponsored by TritonWear. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

Day three preliminaries got underway with Cumberlands junior Christina Klouda swimming a 2:04.20 ahead of ONU’s Amanda Moran in 2:05.07 and Kara DeLong in 2:06.94. Rounding out the A final tonight will be Thomas Kiana Molina who swam a 2:09.68.

Freshman Gergo Zachar posted a 1:49.46 to earn the rights to lane four with ONU’s Charles Bennett (1:49.73) and Loyola’s Trey James (1:50.41) following behind.

The women’s 100 free saw Lindsey Wilson College duo of Alexis Kessler (51.54) and Jessica Macdonald (52.42) taking the top two spots with SCAD’s Julie Henninger took third in a time of 52.49. Cumberlands freshman Mendy De Rooi (52.95) touched eighth in the A final.

Taking lane four tonight in the men’s 100 free in tonight’s A final was Keiser freshman N’Nhyn Fernander in the only 44-second time of 44.83 with fellow Seahawk Marcel Nagy in second with 45.01. Thomas University’s Alex Haymond got third in 45.19 with ONU’s Guilherme Magnoler (46.36) rounding out the A final.

ONU’s Andrea Vega swam a 2:20.67 in the women’s 200 breast to secure her spot as top seed tonight with SCAD’s Sara Lacusky (2:21.39) and Julian Hnidenko (2:22.00) following behind. Loyola’s Paige Carter swam a 2:24.18 to be seeded eighth tonight.

Keiser University sophomore Lukas Macek posted the quickest time of the morning with a 2:03.08. WVU-Tech’s Paulo Dias Ignacio Jr swam a 2:03.52 for the second seed with KU’s Joel Peterson behind in 2:03.83.

SCAD took the top three spots going into tonight’s women’s 200 butterfly A final with Lydia Reinhardt (2:04.88), Rebecca Justus (2:06.88) and Cadie Crow (2:08.43) while Lindenwood freshman Alina Geck took the final spot with 2:10.83.

The men’s 200 butterfly A final will feature a freshman-showdown between ONU’s Iran Cavacante (1:50.31) and SCAD’s Gergely Harasanyi (1:51.42) while Lindenwood’s Timo Billman will take the third seed in 1:51.52. ONU’s Seth Cripe will take the eighth seed by virtue of his 1:52.89.

Tonight’s finals sessions will begin at 5 p.m.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x