Rice Keeps Dominating Phill Hansel Invite

HOUSTON, Texas, November 23. THE Rice Owls continued to dominate the Phill Hansel Invitational held in Houston during the second night of competition. Meanwhile, a handful of NCAA B cuts were turned in throughout the evening.

Rice’s Shelly Patton, Rachel Moody, Casey Clark and Karina Wlostowska snatched the women’s 200-yard medley relay title on night two with a 1:42.27. North Texas’ Mona Groteguth, Krista Rossum, Bianca Bocsa and Michelle Balcaen finished second in 1:43.09. Rice’s B team of Taylor Armstrong, Lillian Marrow, Marissa Konicke and Cora McKenzie placed third in 1:43.17.

In a swift finale, Rice’s Quincy Christian won the women’s 400-yard IM in 4:17.80, while North Texas’ Rossum posted a second-place 4:18.39 as the top two times cleared the NCAA B cut. Rice’s Madison Livingston wound up third overall in 4:24.60.

Rice collected two more NCAA B cuts in the women’s 100-yard fly. Clark won in 52.85, while teammate Konicke picked up a second-place 54.48. Rice swept the top three in the event as well with Chelsea Fong placing third in 55.32.

Idaho’s Rachel Millet broke into the win column with a 1:48.11 in the women’s 200-yard freestyle finale. Houston’s Heather Winn placed second in 1:50.15, while North Texas’ Jana Burkard snared third in 1:50.21. Notably, Rice’s Erin Flanigan won the B final in 1:50.13.

Another NCAA B cut went up on the board as Tulane’s Mia Schachter won the women’s 100-yard breast in 1:02.09. Idaho’s Erica Anderson earned second in 1:02.65, while Rice’s Rachel Moody took third in 1:03.11.

North Texas’ Groteguth jumped into the NCAA B cut game as well with a 54.30 to win the women’s 100-yard back. Rice’s Taylor Armstrong took second in 55.48, while Houston’s Taylor Gregory tied with Idaho’s Millet with matching 55.59s for third.

Rice swept the relays tonight as Shelly Patton, Casey Clark, Taylor Armstrong and Erin Flanigan clocked a 7:17.02 to win the women’s 800-yard free relay. North Texas’ Krista Rossum, Mona Groteguth, Eva Marie Oesterhus and Jana Burkard placed second in 7:22.94. Rice’s B squad of Cora McKenzie, Marita Sailor, Quincy Christian and Karina Wlostowska earned third in 7:30.39.

Houston did what it usually does in diving as the program has been strong for years. Freshman Taylor Olanski won the one-meter with 274.70 points, while teammate Natasha Burgess collected 274.05 points for second. Fresno’s Hannah Prigge finished third with 270.65 points.

1. Rice, 686
2. Houston, 462.5
3. Idaho, 454
4. New Mexico State, 384
5. Tulane, 360.5
6. North Texas, 296
7. Fresno, 61