Purdue vs. Indiana

BLOOMINGTON, Indiana, January 21. THE Indiana women's swimming and diving team had no trouble taking down rival Purdue, posting a 169-130 victory Saturday afternoon in front of a packed house at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

The Hoosiers too the win in a meet that was televised live on the Big Ten Network, the first-ever dual meet shown on the Network and the first time a swimming event has been shown live.

"The seniors swam phenomenally well for us" said head coach Ray Looze. "Along with dominant diving, it was a real consistent effort."

Today's meet also served as senior day, with Gabby Agostino, Margaux Farrell, Laura Head, Katelyn Ishee, Christina Kouklakis, Kristen Mitsch, Courey Schaefer, Brittany Strumbel, Kim Tracey, Allysa Vavra and Nikki White honored at the conclusion of the day.

The day began with the women's platform diving competition, as Amy Cozad was victorious with a score of 354.53. Laura Ryan placed second (336.15), with Kate Hillman fourth (268.13).

Allie Day, Bronwyn Pasloski, Kim Tracey and Courey Schaefer took second in the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:43.18.

Indiana went 1-2-3 in the women's 1,000 free, won by Allysa Vavra in 9:51.23. Lindsay Vrooman was second (9:55.49-career best), with Lauren Jordan third (10:04.40-career best).

It was another 1-2-3 for the Hoosiers in the 200 freestyle as Margaux Farrell continues to lead the Big Ten in the event with a time of 1:48.66. Brittany Strumbel was second (1:49.24) and Courey Schaefer third (1:49.51).

Day picked up her first individual win of the meet in the 100 backstroke, taking it in 55.28. Justine Ress was right on her heels in 55.84, with Cynthia Pammett third (56.60).

Pasloski was the top Hoosier in the 100 breaststroke, taking second in 1:03.22. Ashley Specht was third (1:03.99) and Afton Robertson fifth (1:06.07). Brenna MacLean was out-touched in the 200 fly, taking second in 2:01.49. Lindsay Vrooman was fourth (2:04.81) and Tracey fifth (2:05.62).

In a sprint to the wall, Farrell was second in 23.43 over 50 yards, with Stephanie Armstrong fourth (23.70) and Pammett sixth (24.15).

Gabby Agostino led a 1-2-3 finish in the 1-meter springboard competition, tallying 311.33 points. Ryan was second with 306.53 points, and Cozad third (304.88).

Farrell's second individual win of the day came in the 100 free as she clocked a time of 50.52. Strumbel was second in 50.92, with Armstrong fourth (51.43).

Ress led start-to-finish in the 200 backstroke, touching in 1:59.53. Day was second in 2:01.24, with Lauren Jordan fifth (2:03.36).

Vavra cruised to her second win of the day with a time of 2:15.67 in the 200 breaststroke. Pasloski was second in 2:17.45, with Katelyn Ishee fifth (2:22.05).

The fourth 1-2-3 finish of the day for Indiana came in the 500 freestyle with Strumbel first (4:50.51), Vrooman second (4:52.17) and Jordan third (4:54.20). Nikki White was next to the wall in fourth (4:56.29).

It was second for MacLean in the 100 fly, clocking in at 56.56. Day was third in 56.76 and Tracey fourth (57.17).

Vavra swam easily to her third win of the day, completing the 200-yard individual medley in 2:03.84. MacLean took second in 2:06.51, with Pasloski third (2:06.93).

In one of the tightest races of the day, Indiana edged Purdue in the 400 free relay, led by an anchor-leg charge from Farrell. Strumbel, Armstrong and Vrooman joined Farrell on the relay for a time of 3:22.27.

The Hoosiers close out their home schedule next Saturday, Jan. 28, as they play host to the Louisville Cardinals at 12 p.m. ET at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center. It will be the final tune-up before the 2012 Big Ten Championships, Feb. 15-18 in Iowa City, Iowa.

The Indiana men closed out their Big Ten dual meet season with a victory over rival Purdue in front of a packed house at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center Saturday afternoon.

The Hoosiers took a 166-134 victory in a meet that was televised live on the Big Ten Network, the first-ever dual meet shown on the Network and the first time a swimming event has been shown live.

Today's meet also served as senior day, with John Schnittker, Tyler Shedron and Andrew Taylor honored at the conclusion of the day.

"It was a phenomenal meet," said head coach Ray Looze. "Our strategy was to put as many points as we could into the first part of the meet and it worked out for us. Credit to our seniors, and the divers who really came through for us."

The meet began with the men's platform diving competition, won by Conor Murphy with a score of 378.83. Darian Schmidt was second (369.75), with Zac Nees third (345.45).

The first swimming event of the day was the 400-yard medley relay, as James Wells, Cody Miller, Steve Schmuhl and Jim Barbiere touched the wall first in 3:16.77.

In a race between a pair of Hoosiers, Patrick Scally held off Ryan Hinshaw in 9:26.21, with Hinshaw touching in 9:21.31. Alex Kotliarsky was fourth in 9:26.21.

Barbiere pulled away from the field in the 200 freestyle, winning in 1:37.98. John Schnittker was second (1:40.09), and Tyler Shedron fourth (1:40.58).

Wells was victorious in the 100 back, touching the wall in 48.60. Mike Hurley was sixth (53.18). Miller took second in the 100 breaststroke (56.71), while Nicholas Schwab touched fourth (58.25).

Schmuhl took the 200 fly by more than a body length in 1:47.73. Shedron was third (1:51.11) and Sam Trahin fourth (1:51.70). Daniel Kanorr's fifth-place time of 20.78 in the 50 free was tops for Indiana, with Andrew Taylor sixth (21.66).

Barbiere out-touched Purdue's Matt Friede in the 100 free with a winning time of 44.98 to Friede's 45.03. Matt Gerth was sixth in 46.56. Wells was second in the 200 back (1:49.40) and Schmuhl fourth (1:49.98).

Miller was second in the 200 breaststroke (2:04.31), followed by Trahin in third (2:04.73) and Schwab fourth (2:04.93).

Hinshaw was the winner in the 500 freestyle (4:29.79), leading a 1-2-3 IU finish. He was followed by Barbiere in second (4:30.18) and Andrew Taylor in third (4:30.34).

Schmuhl led a 2-3 Hoosier finish in the 100 fly, finishing in 49.91. Wells claimed the third spot (49.95), with Hurley sixth (51.05).

Nees set a new collegiate pool record in the 1-meter springboard, tallying 420.90 points for the win. That is also the second-highest score in school history. Schmidt was second (355.65), with Mick Dell'Orco third (333.15).

Miller was at the front of a 2-3 finish for IU in the 200 IM, posting a time of 1:51.40. Trahin was next in 1:52.49, with Hurley fourth (1:54.47). It was a fifth-place showing for Schwab (1:54.59).

Indiana is back in action next Saturday, Jan. 28, as it plays host to the Louisville Cardinals at 12 p.m. ET.

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at Newsmaster@swimmingworldmagazine.com. However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.