Pruden, Medeiros Set League, Meet Records During Finals Of NEWMAC Championships

Photo Courtesy: Cathleen Pruden

By Chandler Brandes, Swimming World College Intern

Day three of the 2016 NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Championships was exciting, as six meet records and three conference records were broken.

Women’s 400 IM

Mount Holyoke’s Cathleen Pruden dominated the women’s 400 IM, leading from start to finish to claim her fourth title in the event. The senior won in 4:21.77, nearly nine seconds ahead of the rest of the field. Her time clipped her own meet and conference record she set last year.

MIT freshman Addie Chambers took second in 4:30.03, while Springfield’s Callie Phillips finished third in 4:34.71. Clark’s Karina Urquhart won the B-Final in 4:42.24.

Men’s 400 IM

MIT’s Brandon McKenzie won his second event of the meet, sweeping both IM events. The freshman won the 400 in 4:00.24, over two seconds ahead of the runner-up.

WPI’s Seth MacDonald finished second in 4:02.34 after dropping eight seconds from his prelims swim. Third went to MIT’s Josh Graves in 4:02.65 and Coast Guard’s Taylor Rowe cruised to a 4:08.59 to take the B-Final.

Women’s 100 Fly

Three swimmers were under 57 seconds, but the title ultimately went to Springfield’s Delaney Dyjak. The junior won in 56.39.

Wellesley’s Dorothy Ren took second in 56.60 and MIT’s Margaret Guo was third in 56.97. Ren’s teammate Jessie Feng took the B-Final in 59.60.

Men’s 100 Fly

The men’s 100 fly was also close with six swimmers under 50 seconds. WPI’s David Smallwood was victorious, winning in 49.30.

Luke Schlueter of MIT was second in 49.43 while WPI’s Jack Bauer was a close third in 49.45. Springfield’s Kent Parsons claimed the B-Final in 51.44.

Women’s 200 Free

Not too long after taking third in the 400 IM, Springfield’s Phillips went on to claim the 200 free. The senior won in 1:52.70.

Clark’s Melissa Orzechowski touched second in 1:53.07 while Coast Guard’s Kristen Young was third in 1:53.78. MIT’s Mary Thielking dominated the B-Final in 1:54.62.

Men’s 200 Free

WPI’s Andrew Bauer cruised to the win in the men’s 200 free, over two seconds ahead of the rest of the field. The junior finished in 1:38.92, breaking the meet record of 1:39.34 set back in 2008.

WPI went 1-2 in the event with Nathan Hughes taking second in 1:41.10. MIT’s Josh Tomazin was third in 1:41.84 while his teammate Jeremy Bogle claimed the B-Final in 1:43.57.

Women’s 100 Breast

After breaking her own meet record in the 100 breast this morning, Springfield’s Emily Medeiros set a new mark in the meet and conference record at night. The junior won the race by over one second in 1:02.68.

MIT’s Jessica Chen took second in 1:03.98 as Medeiros’ teammate Alyssa Carle was third in 1:04.48. WPI’s Alyssa Grant narrowly won the B-Final in 1:08.55.

Men’s 100 Breast

The men’s 100 breast was another close race, as the top four swimmers were all well under 57 seconds. Chasse Sodemann came out on top, winning in 56.14.

MIT’s Justin Chiu finished second in 56.32 and Springfield’s Michael Normoyle touched third in 56.42. Wheaton’s Samuel Zarfos won the B-Final in 59.77.

Women’s 100 Back

Veronika Jedryka won the race in 55.77 en route to breaking the meet record of 56.17 set in 2012. The junior was just off her own conference record of 55.42.

Wellesley’s Dorothy Ren and MIT’s Catherine Wu tied for second in 57.36. Wheaton’s Kelley Baylis won the B-Final in 59.80.

Men’s 100 Back

After breaking the meet record earlier this morning, MIT’s Daniel Smith cruised to the win tonight in 49.66.

Smith’s teammate Bo Mattix was second in 50.09. WPI’s J. Bauer was third in 50.62 and his teammate Matt Houghton took the B-Final in 52.57.

Men’s 3m Diving

Freshmen claimed the top three spots of the men’s 3m diving event. MIT’s Elliot Forde won with a score of 491.75 with teammate Jeremy Sands taking second with 464.85. Coast Guard’s Will French was third with 435.00.

Women’s 200 Medley Relay

MIT’s relay team of C. Wu (26.19), Chen (29.27), Guo (25.09), and Amanda Wu (23.33) won the final women’s event of the night. Their time of 1:43.88 clipped the old meet and conference record set in 2013 by .01.

Men’s 200 Medley Relay

WPI’s relay team of J. Bauer (23.42), Andrew Kelleher (25.28), Smallwood (22.22), and A. Bauer (19.97) won the final race of the evening. Their time of 1:30.89 set a new meet record by half a second.

Current Women’s Team Standings:

1. MIT-856
2. Springfield-631
3. Wellesley-498.5
4. Coast Guard-428
5. Wheaton-407
6. WPI-348.5
7. Clark-227
8. Mount Holyoke-225
9. Smith-214
10. Babson-118

Current Men’s Team Standings:

1. MIT-1025
2. WPI-736.5
3. Coast Guard-704.5
4. Wheaton-391.5
5. Springfield-345
6. Babson-271
7. Clark-257.5

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x