Pro Dual Meet 1: East Downs West, 220-191; Darian Townsend Clears $1,000 in Earnings

Full on-demand videos and other video content from this meet available at the SwimmingWorld.TV Event Landing Page.

ANN ARBOR, Michigan, November 17. THE initial Pro Dual Meet 1 event came to a conclusion as the Professional Swimming League kicked off its existence with a successful two-day long course meter outing. In the end, East beat West, 220-191, in the dual meet format.

West's Charlie Houchin captured the sole middle distance event of the meet with a 3:52.08 in the 400 free. East's Jean Basson placed a distant second in 3:57.56. East's Barry Murphy clipped West's Alex Hetland, 28.12 to 28.16, in the 50 breast for the win.

East's Jason Dunford touched the wall in 52.77 to claim the 100 fly crown, while West's Chris Brady earned second-place honors in 53.60. East continued to put together winning swims as Eugene Godsoe checked in with a 25.68 to win the 50 back. West's Darian Townsend, already a two-time winner yesterday, finished second on 26.05.

Townsend put together a strong back-to-back effort with a winning time of 49.28 in the 100 free, his third win of the meet. East's Bobby Savulich, the creator of the Professional Swimming League, finished runner-up in 50.04.

East's Clark Burckle knocked off West's Elliott Keefer, 2:15.11 to 2:15.98, in the 200 breaststroke event. That added the 200 breast to Burckle's victory in the 100 breast yesterday. Godsoe completed a backstroke sweep, when he added the 200 back to his previous wins in the 50 (tonight) and 100 (yesterday). In the 200, Godsoe hit the wall in 2:00.98. East's We Peng earned second in the race with a 2:03.93.

West's George Bovell (22.64), Alex Coville (22.63), Chris Brady (22.49) and Darian Townsend (21.98) clinched the men's 200 free relay title in 1:29.74. Townsend's anchor leg was the fastest leg of the finale.

Townsend finished the two-day meet as the money-leader with $1,050 in earnings. Godsoe, meanwhile, grabbed $900, while Jason Dunford ($750), Clark Burckle ($650), Charlie Houchin ($650) and Wu Peng ($650) all cleared $500 in individual prize winnings.

Full Cash Winnings
Darian Townsend $1050
Eugene Godsoe $900
Jason Dunford $750
Clark Burckle $650
Charlie Houchin $650
Wu Peng $650
Chris Brady $450
George Bovell $350
Barry Murphy $300
Jean Basson $200
Alex Hetland $200
BJ Johnson $200
Bobby Savulich $200
Elliott Keefer $150
Alex Coville $100
Nick Brunelli $50
Fred Castro $50
Adam DeJong $50
Kevin Doak $50