Peter Larson, Hayden Zheng Crush Records as Edina Claims Team Title at Minnesota Boys Class AA States

Photo Courtesy: Edina Hornets Twitter (@edinahornets)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2019 Minnesota Boys Class AA State Swimming and Diving Championships took place on March 2 at the University of Minnesota’s Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn.

Edina’s Peter Larson broke a pair of Minnesota state and Class AA records in the 50 free and 100 free, while St. Louis Park’s Hayden Zheng did the same in the 100 breast.

Edina won the team title with 268 points ahead of Chanhassen-Chaska (205) and Wayzata (176). Edina also won the girls’ championship crown in the fall, making it the third time in school history that both teams have won the title in the same year.

Click HERE for full results.

Top 5 Team Scores:

  1. Edina – 268
  2. Chanhassen-Chaska – 205
  3. Wayzata – 176
  4. Eden Prairie – 175
  5. Minnetonka – 153

Wayzata’s Sam Kennedy (22.36), Nick Kale (24.75), Casey Stowe (21.52) and Beau Brinkman (21.40) began the meet by dominating the 4×50 medley relay, winning by five seconds in 1:30.03. Rochester Mayo was a distant second in 1:35.19 and Minnetonka took third in 1:35.25.

It was a tight battle in the 200 free, with ultimately Edina’s Andrew Gray (1:37.68) edging out Prior Lake’s Sean Dwyer (1:37.87) fir the win as the only two swimmers in the field under the 1:40 mark. Shakopee’s Liam Bergerson finished third in 1:40.99.

Zheng cruised to first in the 200 IM, stopping the clock in 1:48.25 as the only athlete to break the 1:50 marker. Rochester Mayo’s Grant Reeves (1:50.84) and Stowe (1:51.49) finished second and third, respectively.

Larson splashed-and-dashed his way to a win in the 50 free, touching the wall in a quick 20.06. His prelims time of 19.97 broke the Minnesota state and Class AA record of 20.22 Roseville Area’s Michael Richards set back in 2007. Lakeville North’s Andrew Trepanier sprinted to the runner-up spot in 20.35 and Elk River’s Zack Kopp was third in 20.54.

Stillwater’s Josiah Fick dove to first on the 1-meter board, finishing with a final score of 389.35 for the win. Bloomington Jeff’s Sam Wallace took second with 371.00 points and St. Michael Albe’s Tyler Barrett finished third with a total score of 366.40.

After taking second in the 50 free, Trepanier redeemed himself by taking the top spot in the 100 fly after winning in 48.49. 200 free champion Gray flew to second in 48.95 and Eden Prairie’s Alex Deng finished third in 49.40.

Larson proved his sprint talent by adding the 100 free state title in addition to his 50 free hardware from earlier, racing to the wall in 43.77. His prelims time of 43.46 eclipsed Minnetonka’s Sam Schilling’s 44.02 state and class record set in 2017. 45.17 was fast enough for Kopp to take second and Eden Prairie’s Soren Dunn sprinted to third in 46.02.

Dwyer powered home to a win in the 500 free, dropping over four seconds from his prelims time to win in 4:32.00. Woodbury’s Timothy Rizzo clocked in at 4:34.29 for second and Stillwater’s Will Whittington secured third place in 4:36.05.

Edina’s Larson (20.00), Charlie Webb (21.78), Max Dow (21.33) and Gray (20.56) combined to win the 4×50 free relay in 1:23.67. Chanhassen-Chaska (1:24.65) and Lakeville North (1:25.57) completed the top three podium finishers.

Stowe led the charge in the 100 back, clocking in at 48.45 for the gold medal as the first of only four swimmers to sneak under the 50-second marker. His teammate Kennedy was close behind in 48.82 for silver and bronze belonged to St. Paul Central’s Aiden Fairman (49.47).

Zheng’s second gold of the day came in record-setting fashion: he won the 100 breast in 53.86, breaking the Minnesota state record of 54.41 set by Minnehaha Academy’s Andrew Karpenko hours earlier at the Class A Championship. His time also broke Minnetonka’s Corey Lau’s Class AA mark of 54.90 set in 2016. Kale (55.52) was second and Deng (55.62) was third.

Edina secured their overall team title as Gray (45.21), Gabe Baker (46.81), Keegan Duffy (46.53) and Larson (43.21) won the 4×100 free relay in 3:01.76 ahead of Chanhassen-Chaska (3:07.11) and Eden Prairie (3:07.83).

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments