Penny Oleksiak, Taylor Ruck Named to Canada’s World Championship Team

Taylor Ruck; Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Penny Oleksiak, Taylor Ruck Named to Canada’s World Championship Team

Penny Oleksiak and Taylor Ruck, both of whom passed on the recent Bell Canadian Trials, were included on Canada’s team for the World Aquatics Championships this summer in Fukuoka, Japan.

The Canadian roster consists of 31 swimmers – 14 men and 17 women – with qualification at Canadian Trials and through a selection committee of Swimming Canada. It will be led by head coach Ryan Mallette.

Ruck eschewed the Trials, citing rest after a successful NCAAs with Stanford. Oleksiak is recovering from a knee injury sustained in the fall. Also on the roster is Ruslan Gaziev, who did not take part in Trials on the heels of NCAAs.

Bell Canadian Trials Coverage

The headliner is Summer McIntosh, who set two world records and five world junior records last weekend in Toronto. The press release did not specify which event each swimmer will take part in.

“After a successful week at the Bell Canadian Swimming Trials held at the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre, we are excited to see our swimmers perform against the world’s best in Fukuoka,” Swimming Canada high performance director and national coach John Atkinson said in a press release. “The meet is another important step as Swimming Canada prepares for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. For our athletes, what ever their level of performance was during the Trials, the goal is now to improve and be better in Fukuoka.”

The team includes 21 swimmers from the Budapest World Championships last year. Ten swimmers, five of each gender, are making their debuts. Leading the way is Katerine Savard in her sixth World Championships.

The performances at Bell Canadian Trials will be used to select other events this summer, including the Pan American Games and the World Junior Championships.

Men’s roster

Javier Acevedo, Jeremy Bagshaw, Eric Brown, James Dergousoff, Eduoard Fullum-Huot, Ruslan Gaziev, Collyn Gagne, Patrick Hussey, Ilya Kharun, Finlay Knox, Joshua Liendo, Hugh McNeill, Brayden Taivassalo, Lorne Wiggington

Women’s roster

Sophie Angus, Brooklyn Douthwright, Emma Finlin, Hanna Henderson, Ella Jansen, Maggie MacNeil, Mary-Sophie Harvey, Kylie Masse, Summer McIntosh, Emma O’Croinin, Penny Oleksiak, Sydney Pickrem, Taylor Ruck, Katerine Savard, Ingrid Wilm, Kelsey Wog, Mabel Zavaros

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x