Paralympic Swimmer Mallory Weggemann Wins ESPY Award

LOS ANGELES, California, July 14. AQUATIC sports got some love last night at the ESPY Awards, with disabled swimmer Mallory Weggemann winning Best Female Athlete with a Disability.

Weggemann, who was a recent guest on The Morning Swim Show, won eight golds and a silver at the 2010 IPC world championships, breaking nine world records in the process. She had competition from another aquatic athlete: Melissa Stockwell, who won the 2010 Paratriathlon world title.

Katinka Hosszu, the 2011 NCAA Swimmer of the Year, competed in the Best Female College Athlere category, but lost to University of Connecticut basketball player Maya Moore.

The ceremony was broadcast live on ESPN, and winners were chosen by fan voting. Click here for the full list of winners.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x