Pac-12 Women’s Awards: Torri Huske, Claire Curzan, Delaney Schnell Lead Honorees

Photo Courtesy: Pac-12

The Pac-12 Conference announced the recipients of the 2023 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming & Diving postseason awards, as voted on by the league’s coaches. After winning their 25th Pac-12 Championship, Stanford swept the Pac-12 Women’s Swimming awards for the second year in a row with Torri Huske being named Swimmer of the Year, Claire Curzan earning Freshman of the Year honors and Greg Meehan being named Swimming Coach of the Year for the sixth time in his career and second year in a row.

Arizona‘s Delaney Schnell was named Pac-12 Diver of the Year for the third consecutive year while her head coach Dwight Dumais earned his second consecutive Diving Coach of the Year honor. To round out the postseason awards was UCLA’s Eden Cheng who was awarded Pac-12 Freshman Diver of the Year.

2023 WOMEN’S SWIMMER OF THE YEAR: Torri Huske, So., Stanford (Arlington, Va.)
After helping Stanford to its 25th Pac-12 Championship title and a third-place finish in the NCAA Championship, Huske has been named the 2023 Women’s Swimmer of the Year.

The standout sophomore went 7-for-7 in individual event wins at the 2023 Pac-12 Championships, increasing her career record to 14-for-14, and contributed 192 individual points and 256 relay points to the Cardinal’s overall winning total. Huske was the only athlete to win every event she competed in. In six of her seven wins, the sophomore became a back-to-back champion (100 Free, 100 Fly, 200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay, 800 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay) going on to grab her first title in the 50 Free event. In the 100 Fly, Huske swam a new Pac-12 Championship record of 49.27 and added a second record alongside her Cardinal teammates in the 800 free relay (6:53.90).

Huske swam to six NCAA Championship podium finishes including five second-place finishes and one third-place finish. Her runner-up finish in the 200 IM was the fastest time in both Pac-12 and Stanford history (1:50.06), breaking the record for the first time since 2018. The Cardinal went on to break yet another Pac-12 and Stanford record in the 100 Fly, finishing third with time of 48.96 and breaking a record that she previously set in 2022.

2023 WOMEN’S SWIMMING FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Claire Curzan, Fr., Stanford (Cary, N.C.)
After becoming a Pac-12 and NCAA Champion, Stanford Cardinal Claire Curzan was named the 2023 Women’s Swimming Freshman of the Year.

In her first year as a Cardinal, the freshman grabbed two Pac-12 Championship titles, setting Championship records in both the 100 Back (49.46) and the 200 Back (1:47.43), swimming the fastest time in the country at the time in the ladder event. As an essential part of the Cardinal relay team, Curzan took home three relay titles (200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay) and earned a runner-up finish in the 200 Medley Relay.

Curzan’s success did not stop there as the newcomer added an NCAA Championship title in the 200 Back to her impressive debut season. Narrowly missing a personal and Pac-12 record, Curzan swam a 1:47.64 to set a pool record.

2023 WOMEN’S SWIMMING COACH OF THE YEAR: Greg Meehan, Stanford
For the second year in the row, and sixth time in his career, Greg Meehan was voted the Pac-12 Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year. Leading the team to its 25th Pac-12 Championship, and second in the row, Meehan was responsible for a Cardinal sqad that saw their most combined Championship points since 2019 (1725.5) and fifth-highest in program history with Stanford swimming earning 11 first-place finishes and 19 overall podium finishes.

Finishing third in the NCAA Championships, Stanford was the only Pac-12 program to see a top-10 finish with the two Pac-12 swimmers to claim titles being Cardinals (Claire Curzan, Taylor Ruck).

More College News
2023 WOMEN’S DIVER OF THE YEAR: Delaney Schnell, GS., Arizona (Tucson, Ariz.)
For the third year in a row, fifth-year senior Delaney Schnell is the 2023 Women’s Diver of the Year. At the 2023 Pac-12 Championships, Schnell became a three-time 1-Meter Champion (355.50), becoming only the fourth female diver in Conference history to win three consecutive titles in the event. Alongside holding three of Arizona’s four 1-Meter titles, Schnell earned her first title in the 3-Meter (373.60) and a second-place finish in the Platform event (325.05). At the conclusion of the Championships, Schnell was awarded both Women’s Diver of the Meet and Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year.

For Schnell, the 2023 NCAA Championships marked a career first. With a score of 352.65, the graduate student took home the NCAA title in the Women’s Platform diving event to cap her collegiate career. Alongside the title, Schnell finished second in the 1-Meter (340.05), her highest finish in the event, and fourth in the 3-Meter (362.30), less that two points away from the podium.

2023 WOMEN’S DIVING FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Eden Cheng, Fr., UCLA (London, England)
After concluding her first season as a Bruin, freshman Eden Cheng has been named the 2023 Women’s Diving Freshman of the Year. At the Pac-12 Championships, Cheng qualified for all three diving finals, competing in two A finals (3-Meter; Platform) and one B Final (1-Meter). In the Platform event, the freshman earned the first podium finish of her championship career, scoring a 324.60 to finish third. In the 3-Meter, Cheng finished just four points outside the podium, taking fourth (317.10).

At the NCAA Championships, Cheng qualified for the prelims of both the 3-Meter and Platform diving events, going on to earn a place in the consolation final of the Platform and taking home 15th place. Cheng was the only Pac-12 freshman to compete in a diving final and only one of two to compete in the platform final.

For the second year in a row Arizona’s Dwight Dumais has been named the 2023 Women’s Diving Coach of the Year. Helping the Wildcats to 212 points in the Pac-12 Championships, Dumais saw four different divers through all three diving events, including podium finishes by Delaney Schnell in all three. At the NCAA’s, Dumais sent Delaney Schnell to the Championship finals of all three diving events, with the grad student taking home first, second and fourth, respectively. Dumais is the fifth diving coach in Pac-12 history to receive the back-to-back honor.

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with the Pac-12. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x