Pac-12 Day 4 Prelims Recap: Cal takes 1-2-3-5-6 in 200 Butterfly

Matthew Josa. Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The final day of the Pac-12 Men’s Championship is underway as some fast preliminary swims set up what looks to be an intense final night of competition with conference titles on the line.

Here is what happened in the morning prelims:


200 Back

Cal’s Daniel Carr swam to the top seed in the 200 back, clocking a time of 1:41.07, leading a trio of Cal finalists.

USC’s Robert Glinta (1:41.32) was second, followed by Stanford’s Abrahm DeVine (1:41.34), Cal’s Bryce Mefford (1:41.51), Arizona State’s Zach Poti (1:41.87), Stanford’s Curtis Ogren (1:42.74), Arizona’s Thomas Anderson (1:42.83) and Cal’s Andy Song (1:43.08).

100 Free

Utah’s Liam O’Haimhirgin surged to the top seed in the 100 free (42.36), finishing just two hundredths ahead of incoming top seed Justin Lynch (43.38). Lynch’s best time this season is 42.01.

USC’s Santo Condorelli took the third seed (42.48), followed by Cal’s Michael Jensen (42.52), Arizona State’s Cameron Craig (42.56), USC’s Dylan Carter (42.74), teammate Ralf Tribuntsov (42.85) and Cal’s Ryan Hoffer (42.91).

200 Breast

Cal’s Andrew Seliskar coasted to the top seed in the 200 breast, finishing in 1:53.70, leading another Cal trio into the final.

Stanford’s Brennan Pastorek took the second seed (1:54.26), followed by Cal’s Matt Whittle (1:54.94).

Arizona State’s Jack Dalmolin (1:55.03) and Christian Lorenz (1:55.24) took the fourth and fifth seeds, respectively.

Cal’s Nick Silverthorn (1:55.38) and Arizona’s Sam Iida tied for the sixth seed at 1:55.38 and Stanford’s Hank Poppe took the eighth seed (1:55.6) by one hundredth of a second, leaving Arizona’s Matthew Salerno in the consolation final.

200 Fly

Cal finished the morning session in dominating fashion, taking the 1-2-3-5-6 seeds in the 200 butterfly.

Matthew Josa took the top seed at 1:41.41, followed by Zheng Quah (1:41.84) and Trenton Julian (1:42.77). Jack Xie took the fifth seed (1:43.06) and Michael Thomas was sixth (1:43.28).

Arizona’s Justin Wright took the fourth seed (1:42.90). Utah’s Ben Scott was seventh (1:43.39) and USC’s Alex Valente was eighth (1:43.52).