Wolfpack Sweeps 200 Free, Owen and Tarasevich Repeat as Champions on Night Three of Men’s ACC Championships

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold

By Chandler Brandes, ACC Beat Writer

It was another exciting night at the 2016 Men’s ACC Swimming Championships in Greensboro. NC State still leads heading into the final day, followed by Louisville and Virginia Tech.

Click here for live results.

400 IM

Virginia Tech’s Robert Owen defended his title in the 400 IM, winning in 3:41.08. The junior was in second leading into the last 25 of the race, but his monster 51.40 free split got him to the wall first. His time also broke the pool record by .02.

1. Robert Owen (3:41.08), Virginia Tech
2. Nolan Tesone (3:41.41), Louisville
3. Christian McCurdy (3:44.06), NC State

NC State’s Anton Ipsen won the B-Final in 3:45.86 and Notre Dame’s Kevin Bradley dominated the C-Final in 3:47.68.

100 Fly

North Carolina’s Sam Lewis, who finished third last year in this event, was the only swimmer under 46 seconds. The senior won in 45.77.

1. Sam Lewis (45.77), North Carolina
2. Justin Plaschka (46.37), Notre Dame
3. Pedro Coutinho (46.46), Louisville

NC State’s Jason Deana took the B-Final in 47.05 and Virginia Tech’s Brent Benedict won the C-Final in 47.76.

200 Free

NC State went 1-2-3 in the event, led by Simonas Bilis in 1:32.46. The senior broke the pool record of 1:32.83 set by Nathan Adrian in 2014, and was .01 shy of the ACC meet and conference record. This is the second-straight year the Wolfpack has swept the event.

1. Simonas Bilis (1:32.46), NC State
2. Soeren Dahl (1:32.88), NC State
3. Ryan Held (1:32.97), NC State

Virginia’s Luke Georgiadis won the B-Final in 1:36.16 and North Carolina’s Logan Heck took the C-Final in 1:36.98.

100 Breast

NC State’s Derek Hren out touched top seed Brandon Fiala by .01 to take the win in 52.27. This is the junior’s first individual ACC title after finishing second in this event last year.

1. Derek Hren (52.27), NC State
2. Brandon Fiala (52.28), Virginia Tech
3. Carlos Claverie (52.41), Louisville

Duke’s Dylan Payne won the B-Final in 53.44 and Pitt’s Nicholas Stachel claimed the C-Final in 54.37.

100 Back

Louisville’s Grigory Tarasevich had a strong second half to repeat as the ACC champion in the event, winning in 45.28. The junior broke the ACC conference record set in 2014 by .03, and crushed the meet record.

1. Grigory Tarasevich (45.28), Louisville
2. Andreas Schiellerup (45.87), NC State
3. Hennessey Stuart (45.92), NC State

Duke’s Max St. George won the B-Final in 47.41 and NC State’s James Bretscher won the C-Final in 47.72.

400 Medley Relay

Louisville’s relay of Tarasevich (45.81), Claverie (51.97), Coutinho (45.45), and Carroll (41.67) won by over one second in 3:04.90. This is their second-straight title in the event.

NC State’s Staurt (46.43), Hren (51.74), Dahl (45.47), and Joseph Bonk (42.61) took second in 3:06.25, and North Carolina’s Nicolas Graesser (45.85), Kurt Wohlrab (53.27), Lewis (45.66), and Logan Heck (43.18) finished third in 3:07.96.

Team Scores

1. NC State-928
2. Louisville-792.5
3. Virginia Tech-688
4. North Carolina-659.5
5. Georgia Tech-518
6. Virginia-515
7. Duke-472
8. Florida State-443
9. Notre Dame-441
10. Pitt-289
11. Boston College-160
12. Miami-92

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x