NJCAA Championships: Several Decade-Old NJCAA Records Fall

BUFFALO, New York, March 6. THE third night of short course yard swimming took place at the NJCAA Championships held in Buffalo, N.Y., with Indian River State College remaining in the lead in both the men's and women's team titles.

IRSC's men owned 712.5 points at the end of the day, while Lincoln (446.5), Darton (333), Monroe (200) and Iowa Central (173) completed the top five. The River women compiled 640 points with Darton second with 441 points. Monroe (281), Lincoln (193) and Genesee (193) stood third through fifth.

The IRSC contingent of Mary O'Sullivan, Mary Frank, Yesica Rojas and Cara Potter won the women's 200-yard medley relay to open the evening with a time of 1:45.40. Meanwhile, teammates Zack Stockman (22.97), Manny Rabelo (24.19), Robbie Sullivan (21.28) and Emmett Walling (18.83) claimed the NJCAA record in the men's 200-yard medley relay with a 1:27.27. The performance cleared the 1:29.41 set by Indian River last year.

IRSC's Jessi Chandlee followed with a dominant time of 4:32.66 to claim the women's 400-yard IM title. Teammate Andy Garcia-Montes captured the men's 400-yard IM title the next event with a time of 3:57.01.

Rojas returned after helping IRSC to the 200 medley relay win with an individual victory of her own in the women's 100-yard fly. She turned in a time of 57.59 for the win. Lincoln's Brian Spittler gave his team a second event title for the meet in a touch-out triumph over IRSC's Sullivan, 48.29 to 48.31, in the men's 100-yard fly.

Indian River's Jennifer Marquez beat her prelim NJCAA record of 1:48.78 with a swift time of 1:48.09 to win the women's 200-yard free. During prelims, Marquez shot down an 11-year-old record of 1:49.74 set by IRSC alum Tanya Gurr in 1998. Meanwhile, IRSC's Mateo De Angulo came through with the men's 200-yard free crown of 1:38.29.

In the women's 100-yard breast, IRSC's Mary Frank crushed the field with a time of 1:04.83 for the win. Walling shot down a 16-year-old NJCAA record in the men's 100-yard breast with a time of 53.83. The swim cleared the previous record of 54.18 set by Broward's Seth Van Neerdan back in 1993. The effort also broke the pool record of 54.65 set by George Washington's Alvaro Fortuny in 2001.

Notably, the NJCAA record almost gave IRSC a clean sweep of the men's standards as Van Neerdan owns the only non-IRSC record left with a 1:57.04 set in 1993.

IRSC's Monika Mialka rolled to victory in the women's 100-yard back with a time of 56.03 after setting the NJCAA record as a relay leadoff with a 55.49 two days ago. Stockman ended the night for IRSC with an NJCAA record in the men's 100-yard back when Stockman touched in 49.04. The effort bested the 49.25 set by IRSC's Brendan Masterson posted back in 2000.