Netherlands Sprint Championships: Jeroen Baars, Timon Evenhuis Double; Kira Toussaint Sets Championship Record

HEERENVEEN, The Netherlands, June 24. THE two-day, short course meter Netherlands Sprint Championships concluded today in Heerenveen with Jeroen Baars and Timon Evenhuis capturing their second individual wins of the meet. Kira Toussaint recorded the only championship record of the meet on Saturday.

Ilse Kraaijeveld kicked off the competition with a win in the women's 50m freestyle. Kraaijeveld posted a 25.33 to defeat Chantal Senden (25.41) and Tamara van Vliet (25.53).

Timon Evenhuis dominated the next event, the men's 100m IM, with a 54.58. Niels van Eck touched more than three seconds behind in 57.69 while Ramon Fredrik turned in a 58.19 for third.

In the women's 50m back, Kira Toussaint dipped under the championship record with a time of 27.63, erasing Hinkelien Schreuder's 27.71 from the books. Willemijn Knot recorded a 28.10 to take second while Anja van der Hout was third (28.92).

Jeroen Baars earned his first win of the meet after posting the top time of 24.29 in the men's 50m fly. Robin van Aggele finished second with a 24.46, followed by Jan Kersten in 24.60.

Anouk Elzerman recorded the quickest time of the field in the women's 50m breast with a 31.53, just missing the championship record of 31.38. Lotte Goosen swam a 32.16 for second while Chantal Senden wound up third in 32.49.

In today's action, Jeroen Baars earned his second victory of the meet in the men's 50m freestyle. Baars touched in 22.78, just in front of Robin van Aggele (22.94) and Timon Evenhuis (22.96).

Lona Kroese captured the women's 100m IM with a 1:01.96, less than a second off the championship record of 1:01.37 from last year. Lotte Goosen, who holds that championship record, placed second in 1:02.52. Anja van der Hout picked up third in 1:03.07.

Jan Kersten swam a dominating race in the men's 50m back, winning by almost a full second in 24.77, just off the championship record of 24.37. Jesse Puts (25.66) and Ramon Fredrik (26.24) completed the podium.

Willemijn Knot earned her second trip to the podium with the top time of 26.69 in the women's 50m fly. Chantal Senden finished second in 27.16 while Kelly de Jong was third in 27.61.

Timon Evenhuis won his second event of the meet with a 27.88 in the men's 50m breast. Rudy Ted de Haan finished second in 28.66, followed closely by Pieter Jan de Vries in 28.82.