Nathan Adrian to Join the LA Current of the International Swimming League

Photo Courtesy: SIPA USA

30-year-old Nathan Adrian will be joining the Los Angeles Current of the International Swimming League (ISL) this fall. Adrian will be joining the team that includes fellow Cal teammates Ryan MurphyJosh PrenotAndrew Seliskar and Tom Shields. Each ISL team would have 12 men and 12 women on their team with up to four additional alternates per team.

The LA Current will be competing in Group B with the New York Breakers, Team Iron and the London Roar. The Current will start competing October 18 in Lewisville, Texas with the three aforementioned teams and will swim again a week later in Budapest October 26. The Current will then swim in the “Derbies” on November 16 in College Park with the three other American-based teams, the Cali Condors, DC Trident and the Breakers.

The top two American teams will advance to the finals to face off with the top two European teams on December 20 in Las Vegas.

Adrian was the Olympic Champion in 2012 in the 100 free and also won a gold medal by anchoring the 4×100 medley relay team at those London Games. Adrian returned in Rio in 2016 with a bronze in the 100 free and anchored the 4×100 free and 4×100 medley relays to gold medals.

In 2017, Adrian was the silver medalist in the 100 free at the World Championships, finishing behind fellow American Caeleb Dressel, who remains unsigned with an ISL team.

Adrian was diagnosed with testicular cancer in January and has since made a speedy recovery, making a return to the competition pool in May at the TYR Pro Swim Series in Bloomington.

Women’s Roster

  • Kathleen Baker
  • Amy Bilquist
  • Jhennifer Conceicao
  • Ella Eastin
  • Beryl Gastadello
  • Margo Geer
  • Annie Lazor
  • Katie McLaughlin
  • Andi Murez
  • Farida Osman
  • Leah Smith
  • Kendyl Stewart
  • Aly Tetzloff

Men’s Roster

  • Nathan Adrian
  • Michael Chadwick
  • Dylan Carter
  • Jack Conger
  • Matt Grevers
  • Ryan Held
  • Chase Kalisz
  • Will Licon
  • Felipe Lima
  • Ryan Murphy
  • Blake Pieroni
  • Josh Prenot
  • Andrew Seliskar
  • Tom Shields