Roster for ISL’s New York Breakers Led by Michael Andrew, Marco Koch, Lia Neal (FULL ROSTER)

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

With his mother Tina Andrew in place as general manager of the International Swimming League’s New York Breakers, it’s no surprise to see Michael Andrew on the roster for that team. He will be joined by two swimmers who swam on the 2016 U.S. Olympic team, sprinter Lia Neal and backstroker Jacob Pebley.

The roster is highlighted by veteran German breaststroker Marco Koch, the 2015 World Champion in the 200 breast, as well as Brazilian sprinters Pedro Spajari and Marcelo Cherighini and Australian backstroker Madison Wilson.

“To be a part of it, I’m extremely blessed,” Michael Andrew said. “I’ve been known with doing things very differently. I started swimming pro as a 14-year-old. I think the ISL is doing the same, following a very untraditional path. I’m just excited to see where it’s going to go because it’s going to be massive.”

While most of the American teams featured predominatly U.S.-based rosters, the Breakers will be much different with only three swimmers with U.S. Olympic experience: Pebley, Neal and breaststroker Breeja Larson. The Breakers are the only American team with a heavy Australian contingent, including Wilson, Clyde Lewis and Jack McLoughlin.

In an interesting twist, all three DeLoof sisters: AliCatie and Gabby, all Michigan graduates now swimming professionally. The only other American on the roster is breaststroker Emily Escobedo.

Women’s Roster

  • Haley Black, CAN
  • Pernille Blume, DEN
  • Ali DeLoof,  USA
  • Catie DeLoof, USA
  • Gabby DeLoof, USA
  • Emily Escobedo, USA
  • Reva Foos, GER
  • Breeja Larson, USA
  • Tayla Lovemore, RSA
  • Lia Neal, USA
  • Emily Overholt, CAN
  • Alys Thomas, GBR
  • Madison Wilson, AUS
  • Abbie Wood, GBR

Men’s Roster

  • Michael Andrew, USA
  • Marcelo Cherighini, BRA
  • Mack Darragh, CAN
  • Joao de Lucca, BRA
  • Jonathan Gomez, COL
  • Marco Koch, GER
  • Marius Kusch, GER
  • Clyde Lewis, AUS
  • Jack McLoughlin, AUS
  • Jacob Pebley, USA
  • Tom Peribonio, ECU
  • Christopher Reid, RSA
  • Brad Tandy, RSA
  • Grigory Tarasevich, RUS
  • Markus Thormeyer, CAN

This slideshow requires JavaScript.