Missy Franklin Grasps Third National Title With U.S. Open Blast in 200 Back

Coverage proudly sponsored by ArenaUSA. For full coverage, including interviews, previews and all the links you need to follow along, check out our event coverage page.

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, June 26. COLORADO Stars' Missy Franklin doubled up on the night with a U.S. Open and meet record in her world-record event of the women's 200-meter backstroke at the U.S. Nationals and World Championships. Franklin went out pretty strong at the 100, then cruised her way to victory, potentially saving up a world-record performance for Barcelona.

Franklin ripped off a 2:05.68 to win the distance dorsal this evening, bettering her world-best time of 2:06.33 from prelims this morning. Her effort this evening surpassed Margaret Hoelzer's U.S. Open and meet record of 2:06.09 set in 2008, and also gave Franklin her third title of the meet in three tries. Franklin will be gunning for her world record of 2:04.06 next month at Worlds.

Franklin's future California teammate Elizabeth Pelton made the Worlds roster after a disappointing third-place finish at Trials last year as Pelton blasted a time of 2:06.29 to move to second in the world. Yes, that's right, Teri McKeever could have the top two 200 backstrokers in the world training together starting next year at Cal. That's a big personal best for Pelton, as she previously went 2:07.48 at the 2010 Pan Pacific Championships.

BlueFish's Elizabeth Beisel wound up taking third in 2:07.64 to move to fourth in the world, demonstrating just how scary deep the U.S. is in this event. Longhorn's Sarah Denninghoff earned fourth-place honors in 2:10.16.

Tucson Ford's Bonnie Brandon (2:10.24), SwimMAC's Kathleen Baker (2:10.92), Dynamo's Kylie Stewart (2:11.51) and AquaKids' Clara Smiddy (2:12.27) posted the other finale finishes.

Mission Viejo's Melanie Klaren turned in a time of 2:11.94 to top the B final. That's a full second drop from her personal best of 2:12.94 set earlier this morning.

Hannah Moore took home the C final victory with a time of 2:13.61, just off her lifetime best of 2:13.02 from 2012 Trials.