Missy Franklin A Nominee Again for Women’s Sports Foundation’s Annual Honors

NEW YORK CITY, New York, August 13. MISSY Franklin once again finds herself on the list of the Women’s Sports Foundation’s nominees for Sportswoman of the Year in the individual sport category, up against seven finalists that include one of the greatest tennis players of all time.

Franklin just completed a historic feat at the world swimming championships in Barcelona, Spain, winning six gold medals (three individual, three relay). That is the most gold medals won at one world championship by a female athlete in history. Franklin’s accomplishments this year also include winning the overall USA Swimming Grand Prix Series title and setting the independent high school national record in the 200 individual medley.

This will be Franklin’s second time as a finalist for the award that honors the best female athletes in the world in both individual and team sports. Gymnast Gabby Douglas won the individual sports award in 2012.

Franklin is up against tennis great Serena Williams, figure skater Mao Asada, snowboarder Kelly Clark, skier Tina Maze, Paralympic track star Tatyana McFadden, golfer Inbee Park and pole vaulter Jenn Suhr.

Melissa Seideman is representing water polo in the team sport category. Seideman helped Stanford University to a runner-up finish at the NCAA championships and was part of the USA squad that won the bronze medal at the World League Super Final. Other nominees in the team sport include Talita Da Rocha and Taiana Lima (beach volleyball), Katie Holloway (sitting volleyball), Kaillie Humphries and Chelsea Valois (bobsled), Amanda Kessel (ice hockey) and Candace Parker (basketball). Soccer player Alex Morgan picked up this award in 2012.

The public can vote for their favorite athletes until September 9. The winners will be selected based on public votes and the Women’s Sports Foundation Awards Committee and announced at a gala on October 16 in New York City.

Click here to vote for the sportswoman of the year in the individual sports category.

Click here to vote for the sportswoman of the year in the team category.

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial