Mikayla Murphy Wins Third Event on Night Three of Cleveland Sectionals

big-ten-The Ohio State University men's and women's swimming and diving team host the OSU Invite. November 19, 2017
Photo Courtesy: Walt Middleton Photography 2017

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit SpeedoUsa.com for more information on our sponsor.

Mikayla Murphy stole the show on night three of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals Series – Cleveland in Cleveland, Ohio, by winning her third individual race. Co-hosted by the Firestone Akron Swim Team and the Hudson Explores Aquatic Team, the meet will run from July 19-22 at Cleveland State’s Busbey Natatorium.

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 LE Speedo Sectionals at Cleveland State.

Women’s 50 Fly

Club Wolverine’s Claire Maiocco began the night with a win in the women’s 50 fly, flying past the competition to get her hands to the wall first in 27.32. This is her second individual win of the weekend after taking the gold in the 100 fly last night.

Pau Hana’s Gabrielle Brust finished second in 27.88 while Ohio State’s Rebekah Bradley took third in 27.94 as the only other swimmers under the 30-second barrier.

Men’s 50 Fly

Representing Ohio State, Matthew Abeysinghe flew to the top of the podium in the men’s 50 fly. He dropped nearly a second from his morning swim to take the gold with a final time of 24.83, jut out-touching the runner-up.

SwimUnited’s David Madej also snuck under 25 seconds, taking the silver medal with a time of 24.93 while Ohio State’s Benjamin Kuriger grabbed the bronze in 25.27.

Women’s 100 Back

Lake Erie’s  Crile Hart came out on top of a very competitive women’s 100 back final, winning the event by nearly a second in 1:03.21. That marks a new best time by just over two seconds.

SwimUnited’s Felicia Pasadyn shaved off three-quarters of a second from this morning to take second in 1:04.05 and Bradley wound up third in 1:04.24.

Men’s 100 Back

Ohio State’s Jacob Eismann added the men’s 100 back title to his 50 back win last night. He knocked off eight-tenths from prelims swim to post a lifetime best of 56.69 during finals as the only swimmer in the field under 57 seconds.

Cincinnati Marlins’ Justin Grender powered his way to second in 57.00 and Colin McDermott of Ohio State finished third in 57.30.

Women’s 400 Free

Ohio State’s Mikayla Murphy cruised to first in the women’s 400 free – her third individual win of the meet. After qualifying third during prelims, she dropped almost six seconds to stop the clock first during finals in a new best time of 4:20.27.

Club Wolverine’s Katie Duggan used a strong last 100 to grab second in 4:21.02 while Hudson Explorer’s Paige McCormick finished third in 4:24.72.

Men’s 400 Free

Ryan Vandermeulen of Ohio State, who took second in last night’s 200 free, found himself on top in tonight’s 400 free. He was just off his best time of 4:03.09, winning the event in 4:03.28 tonight.

NAAC Robert Williams finished second in 4:04.17 and SWYM Kyriakos Peristeridis took third in 4:05.58, both personal best times.

Women’s 100 Breast

Club Wolverine’s Delaney Duncan took first place in the women’s 100 breast with a time of 1:09.56, a personal best by half a second. She also won the 200 breast on night one.

Her teammate Alexandra Hughes finished second in a time of 1:11.76 followed by EGRA Riley Kishman who took third with a personal best of 1:12.15.

Men’s 100 Breast

Sixteen-year-old Scott Soboleweski of Cincinnati Marlins, who finished third in the men’s 200 breast, was victorious in the 100 breast tonight. He posted a best time of 1:04.33 during finals to win the event.

Ohio State’s Alex Jahan took second in 1:04.84 while Jonah Venos finished third in 1:05.34.

Women’s 200 Fly

DCST Kristyn Sabol flew to a women’s 200 fly win, getting her hands to the wall first in 2:17.89. That’s a new lifetime best for her by seventh-tenths of a second.

LESD Lauren Musbach dropped over one second to take the runner-up spot in 2:19.95 and Firestone Akron’s Jessica Bonezzi shaved off half a second for third place in 2:20.27.

Men’s 200 Fly

Cincinnati Marlins’ Aaron Taske got his hands to the wall first in a close men’s 200 fly final, winning the event by one-tenth of a second. Taske, who also won the 100 fly, posted a time of 2:04.24 for the win.

Club Wolverine’s Alexander Arrieta finished a close second in 2:04.39 and Ohio State’s Alex Dillman swum to third in 2:05.26.

Men’s 4×200 Free Relay

The Ohio State 4×200 free relay team of Abeysinghe (1:53.87), Vandermeulen (1:54.59), Carson Burt (1:55.77) and Benjamin Kuriger (1:58.90) won the day’s final event in 7:43.13.

Cincinnati Marlins finished second in 7:45.33 and Hudson Explorers took third in 7:54.55.

Prelims for the fourth and final day of competition will begin tomorrow at 9:00 a.m. EST.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Thomas A. Small
5 years ago


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x