Miami Long Course Super Challenge: Sun Yang Smokes 400 Free; Wins Three Titles

GOLD COAST, Australia, January 28. THE one-day Miami Super Challenge, held in long course format, featured some stellar swims by many in attendance, including a cohort of Chinese swimmers led by world-record holder Sun Yang.

Sun Yang crushed the men's 400 free with a scorching time of 3:42.89. Syo Sotodate had the previous top time this year with a 3:49.17. Sun's best time last year was a top-ranked 3:40.29, while Tae Hwan Park owned the second-best a year ago with a 3:42.04. Li Yunqi (3:45.89) and Hao Yun (3:45.69) moved into second and third in the early season rankings. Sun doubled up with a 1:46.84 to capture the men's 200 free later in the day, then earned his third title of the day with a 49.50 in the men's 100 free.

Shao Yiwen moved to second in the early season rankings with a 4:06.98. Only Allison Schmitt has been faster in this young year with a 4:05.90. Katie Goldman finished second in 4:07.52 to move into the early top five.

In a round of shootout 50s, Zhu Qianwei beat Sara Marson, 26.00 to 26.74, in the women's 50 free. Cameron McEvoy downed Jiang Hiaqi, 23.86 to 24.54, in the men's 50 free after blazing to a 23.31 in earlier rounds.

Ji Liping won the women's 200 breast in 2:30.42, while Chen Cheng turned in a 2:14.53 to claim the men's 200 breast. Li Jiaxing topped the women's 200 IM in 2:15.29, while Wang Shun clinched the men's 200 IM in 2:01.29.

Renee Stothard posted a 2:22.90 to win the women's 200 back, while Declan Potts touched in 2:04.97 for the men's 200 back triumph. Tang Yi clocked a 1:57.75 to win the women's 200 free, while Shani Stallard (1:14.02) and Chen Cheng (1:03.21) won the women's and men's 100 breast.

Zhao Jing finished first in the women's 100 back with a 1:01.75, while Sun Xiaolei posted a 56.21 to win the men's 100 back. Jiao Liuyang touched out Ha Sinan, 2:09.13 to 2:09.21, for the women's 200 fly victory. Chen Yin earned the men's 200 fly title in 2:02.26. Pang Jiaying turned in a 56.08 to claim the women's 100 free

Jiao returned to win the women's 100 fly in 59.48 for her second title of the day, while Chen Yin picked up a second title with a 53.08 in the men's 100 fly.