Maya Dirado’s Strong Backstroke Leg Propels Her To 200 IM Victory In Mesa

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Arena Pro Swim Series editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

Katinka Hosszu led after the fly but Maya Dirado pulled ahead with a great backstroke split and went on to win the 200 IM in Mesa tonight. Dirado posted a final time of 2:11.09, the 10th fastest in the world this year, just off her own seventh best 2:10.77.

Ella Eastin was just behind in 2:11.35. Melanie Margalis rounded out the podium performances in 2:12.22.

Madisyn Cox finished fourth in 2:12.35 while Hosszu fell to fifth in 2:12.37.

Caitlin Leverenz (2:14.70), Kirsty Coventry (2:14.76), and Sarah Henry (2:15.45) also competed in the A final.

Patricia Castro Ortega won the B final in a 2:14.79.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 8.23.13 PM

Comments Off on Maya Dirado’s Strong Backstroke Leg Propels Her To 200 IM Victory In Mesa

Author: Cathleen Pruden

Cathleen Pruden is a 2016 graduate of Mount Holyoke College and the High School Content Manager at Swimming World. She was a four time All-American and a three time Academic All-American for the Lyons. She grew up swimming in and has also coached in Raleigh, North Carolina. Currently she is the Assistant Coach at Bowdoin College.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here