Maya Dirado Claims Back To Back Event Wins With World’s 10th Fastest 200 Back

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Arena Pro Swim Series editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

Katinka HosszuMaya Dirado, and Kirsty Coventry were all fresh out of the 200 IM when they hopped back in for tonight’s 200 backstroke. That didn’t seem to phase Dirado who raced her way to the world’s tenth fastest time this year with a 2:08.61, winning the event by well over a second. Dirado already holds the world’s seventh best time from the Austin stop of the Pro Series. That was Dirado’s second win in two consecutive events after claiming the 200 IM minutes earlier.

Kirsty Coventry held on for second place in 2:10.04. Kaitlin Harty was just behind her in 2:10.23.

Matea Samardzic finished fourth with a 2:13.46 while Hosszu ended up fifth in 2:13.91.

Melanie Klaren (2:14.24), Erin Earley (2:15.98), and Ally Howe (2:16.57) also competed in the A final.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 8.44.27 PM