Mark Warkentin, Kirsten Groome Claim Indianapolis Open Water Grand Prix 10K Titles

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, August 6. MARK Warkentin and Kirsten Groome surfaced from a pair of close races to win the Indianapolis Open Water Grand Prix 10K titles held in conjunction with the USA Swimming National Championships.

Warkentin, representing Santa Barbara Swim Club, touched out Mission Viejo's Fran Crippen, 2:00:48.3 to 2:00:48.6, in a photo finish at the finish line. Kamehameha Swim Club's John Flanagan placed third in 2:00:58.4.

Groome, swimming for First Colony Swim Team, knocked off Mission Viejo's Chloe Sutton, 2:06:20.6 to 2:06:28.4, to earn the women's title. Minnesota Aquatics' Christine Jennings finished third in 2:08:32.7. Notably, 1500 free world-record holder Kate Ziegler snared seventh with a time of 2:14:32.2 in her first, and possibly last, foray into open water swimming.

Click here as SwimmingWorld.TV presents parts of the race as well as interviews with the winners and Ziegler.

Click here to view event results PDF file.

The following top 15 swimmers will be invited to compete at the open water World Championship Trials to take place in Fort Myers, Fla., in late October. That event will serve as the selection meet for the 2008 Open Water 10K World Championships held in Spain, which will be the selection meet for the United States open water team to compete at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Men's Top 15
1 Warkentin, Mark D 27 Santa Barbara Swim Club 2:00:48.3
2 Crippen, Fran E 23 Mission Viejo Nadadores 2:00:48.6
3 Flanagan, John E 32 Kamehameha Swim Club 2:00:58.4
4 Sakamoto, Noa K 21 Kamehameha Swim Club 2:03:24.7
5 Roof, Steve R 23 Canton City Schools 2:03:27.8
6 Pursley, David C 20 Mission Viejo Nadadores 2:03:28.0
7 Gemmell, Andrew D 16 Delaware Swim Team 2:03:30.0
8 Koehler, John K 21 Indiana University Club Paradise 2:03:39.2
9 Kaufmann, Scott J 24 Reno Aquatic Club-PC 2:03:43.1
10 Young, Kyle A 21 Area Tallahassee Aquatic Club 2:06:45.7
11 Owen, Philip L 21 North Carolina Aquatic Club 2:07:52.0
12 Cullom, Deni D 16 Mission Viejo Nadadores 2:07:58.1
13 Stephenson, Harry C 15 Gulf Coast Swim Team 2:08:03.5
14 Rimkus, Charlie N 16 Mission Viejo Nadadores 2:08:41.0
15 Daup, Michael R 18 Blackline Aquatics 2:08:43.1

Women's Top 15
1 Groome, Kirsten A 17 First Colony Swim Team, Inc. 2:06:20.6
2 Sutton, Chloe E 15 Unattached Mvn 2:06:28.4
3 Jennings, Christine E 20 Minnesota Aquatics 2:08:32.7
4 Heckman, Dawn M 30 Swim Pasadena 2:08:49.4
5 Bailey, Lauren L 22 Palo Alto Stanford Aquatics 2:13:22.2
6 Massengale, Brittany D 21 Rice Aquatics 2:13:25.4
7 Ziegler, Kate M 19 The Fish-Va 2:14:32.2
8 Fabian, Eva M 14 Greenwood Memorial Swim Club 2:14:50.7
9 Burden, Micha 26 Mission Viejo Nadadores 2:15:44.4
10 Stowe, Elizabeth 20 Unattached 2:18:54.8
11 Vernon, Nicole E 14 Delaware Swim Team 2:18:59.0
12 Witt, Jessica N 20 Nova of Virginia Aquatics, Inc 2:19:17.1
13 Vanden Berge, Samantha L 18 Swim Pasadena 2:23:52.7
14 Hazen, Lisa A 43 Unattached 2:24:25.0
15 Weigand, Courtney Q 17 North Coast Aquatics-Si 2:26:41.9

Mark Warkentin touches out Fran Crippen in open water 10K.

Comments Off on Mark Warkentin, Kirsten Groome Claim Indianapolis Open Water Grand Prix 10K Titles

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here