Many Records Fall at the California Interscholastic Federation Southern Section State Meet

By Brian Savard

LONG BEACH, California, May 19. RECORDS fell all over the place at California's Southern Section Championships. The Southern Section had four district meets a week prior to the Masters Championship, which includes all of the districts combined in a championship meet format that does not officially calculate team scores.

Women's Results
Edison won both the 200 medley relay and the 400 freestyle relay. Edison's medley contingent of Cindy Tran, Jessie Knight, Yasi Jahanshahi and Kiersten Colesen kicked off the meet in record-setting fashion by breaking the former meet record set last year with a 1:48.63 time. Mission Viejo held the former standard of 1:50.22.

Jahanshahi, Monique Wilson, Colesen and Tran closed out the meet with a winning time of 3:33.35 in the 400 freestyle relay. No female swimmer won two individual events, however, many women rewrote the record book in their respective events.

Emily Bibb from La Reina won the 200 freestyle with a scorching time of 1:47.83. While her time fell .4 seconds short of her seed time, she did eclipse the 2006 meet record set by Sara Sun of Crescenta Valley. Sun, the former record holder, finished fourth.

Rachel Grant of Walnut utilized a fast front half of her 200 IM to claim the event win in 2:02.36. Grant's time broke the former meet standard of 2:02.76 set in 2006 by Santiago/Corona's Courtney Kilkuts.

Samantha VandenBerge of La Serna fought off a comeback on the last 100 from Sun in the 500 free with a winning time of 4:49.15. Sun set the former meet record of 4:49.79 in 2006.

Mission Viejo's relay team of Camille Hopp, Meghan Dwyer, Ashlyn Acosta and Alison Godbe crushed the 2006 record of 1:39.11 with a first-place time of 1:36.90. Mission Viejo also held the former meet record.

Tran blasted through the first 50 of her 100 backstroke en route to a record-setting performance of 55.75. Dwyer held the former meet standard of 56.54 and finished second to Tran.

Andrea Kropp from Flintridge touched out Jordan Danny from William Hart by .01. Kropp's first-place time of 1:03.80 eclipsed Stephanie Gabert of Corona del Mar's 2006 meet standard of 1:04.08.

Men's Results
Stanford-bound John Criste bested the competition in both of his events, despite swimming slower than his seed time in each event. Criste captured the 200 IM title with a 1:51.12 time. Criste swam a 1:49.25 at the Division I Swimming and Diving Championships, which served as his seed time. Criste broke a record with a 54.44 performance in the 100 breaststroke. Criste's time reset his 2006 record of 56.13. At the Division I Swimming and Diving Championships, Criste flirted with the national high school record with a 54.15 time.

Ryan Chiu of Mark Keppel took two individual wins as well. Chiu bested the 200 freestyle field with a 1:41.58 time and he swam a 4:32.54 time in the 500 freestyle. Kevin Kuhn from Loyola set a record in the 50 freestyle with a 20.82. Wesley Li from University set the former meet standard of 21.74 in 2006.

Collin Gladys from Esperanza lowered his own meet record in the 100 fly with a 48.88. Gladys swam a 49.40 in the 2006 meet. Patrick White from Mater Dei also lowered his own meet standard in the 100 freestyle with a 45.45. While swam a 46.81 in the 2006 championships.

Andrew Saeta of Pasadena Poly swam a 50.38 in the 100 backstroke, which also served as a record-breaking swim, despite adding a second from his swim at the Division II Swimming and Diving Championship. Scott Clary of Riverside Poly held the former meet standard of 50.69, which he set in 2006.

The Redlands relay crew of Evinn Drusys, Joey Hale, Tyler Harp and A.J. Provonsha broke the 200 freestyle relay record with a 1:25.06 time. Mission Viejo set the former standard of 1:25.76 in the 2006 meet.

Yucaipa's 400 freestyle relay grouping of Trevor Hoyt, Brian Haney, Mike Perry and Karl Krug combined for a record-setting time of 3:06.92. Mission Viejo set the former meet standard of 3:07.16 in 2006.

Diving Results
Paulina Guzman of Millikan captured the diving title for the women with a score of 355.35. Her score broke the 2006 meet record of 299.05 set by Raquel Bartlow of L.B. Wilson.

Taylor Dehn of Mission Viejo bested the field of divers for the men with a 350.25 score. His score eclipsed his former record of 297.85, which he set in last year's meet.