Low Attendance Doesn’t Deter Tupelo Sectionals From Competing

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ross

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit SpeedoUsa.com for more information on our sponsor.

The 2017 Speedo Sectionals, Tupelo kicked off last night at the Tupelo Aquatic Center in Mississippi. The field featured a surprisingly small number of athletes, mostly from a handful of teams. Despite the low attendance, host team Shockwave Aquatics and USA Swimming decided to go forward with the meet.

One solution that was reached was to incorporate 30 minute breaks after the conclusion of each men’s event to allow swimmers to compete in a more rested state.

2018 Speedo Sectionals: Tupelo, Day 1 Results – Results

Women’s 800 Free

Elizabeth Byrne from Chattahoochee Gold finished first in the women’s 800 free to start the night. She finished in 9:12.97, five seconds ahead of Kathryn Epperson. Epperson, representing the Memphis Tigers, took second in 9:17.27. Both girls dropped from their entry times.

Men’s 800 Free

The men’s 800 free was led by Landon Peeples of Performance Elite Aquatics. Peeples touched first in 8:37.69. Chattahoochee Gold’s Grant Davis came in second in a time of 8:43.02.

Women’s 200 IM

The Chattahoochee Gold women claimed their second victory of the night in the women’s 200 IM. 15 year old Sarah Brown won the race in 2:28.21. Brown was followed by two Memphis Tigers swimmers in second and third. Mary Miller Goldberg touched second in 2:30.06. She was just ahead of teammate Lucy Patterson, whose time of 2:30.32 was good for third.

Men’s 200 IM

Langston Weddington and Roland Chang swam the men’s 200 IM as exhibition races. Weddington posted the top time at a 2:19.02, followed by Chang’s 2:23.91.

Women’s 50 Free

Amber Schulte sprinted to victory in the women’s 50 free, posting a 27.84. Teammates Mason Davis and Lucy Patterson participated in the event as exhibition, finishing with times of 28.54 and 28.69 respectively.

Men’s 50 Free

Miles Simon grabbed a narrow victory of Warren Turner in finals of the men’s 50 free, clocking a 24.74 over Turner’s 24.77.

Jordan Dunn rounded out the top three with a 24.78.

Women’s 200 Fly

Katharyn Epperson took first in the women’s 200 fly with a time of 2:22.39, followed by Jacqueline Turner (2:25.02) and Mary Miller Goldberg (2:25.43).

Men’s 200 Fly

Richard Nichol dominated the men’s 200 fly, delivering a 2:07.34 for first and a Junior National Winter cut.

Grant Davis posted a second place finish of 2:12.35, followed by Christopher Robinson’s 2:12.84.

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial