Longhorn Aquatics and Aggie Swim Club Dominate Thursday Finals at Austin Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit SpeedoUsa.com for more information on our sponsor.

Three individual champions won their respective events by over three second margins as well as exceptional performances from powerhouses Longhorn Aquatics and Aggie Swim Club at the opening night of finals at the Austin Speedo Sectionals..

In the men’s team rankings, Longhorn Aquatics comfortably sits in first place with 216 points. Over hundred points behind are the North Texas Nadadores and Alamo Aquatic Association, both with 97 points.

On the women’s side, Aggie Swim Club is in the lead with 176 points, yet 22 points behind in second are the Longhorn Aquatics. Tied for third at 80 points is Austin Swim Club and Unattached South Texas.

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile under “2018 ST TXLA Speedo Southern Sectionals.” 

Women’s 200 Back

Winning the first final of the night was Longhorn’s Quinn Carrozza, clocking in at 2:10.47. Taking second was Magnolia’s Lucie Nordmann (2:11.90) and third was Aggie’s Lisa Bratton (2:13.28).

Rounding off the top eight was Longhorn’s Genevieve Pfeifer (2:14.81), unattached Claire Adams (2:15.62), Longhorn’s Kaitlyn Harty (2:15.99), Aggie’s Karling Hemstreet (2:17.09), and unattached Maxine Wolters (2:17.63).

Men’s 200 Back

Longhorn’s Austin Katz scratch from tonight’s finals gave way for William Grant of Heart of Texas Aquatics to take the title with a time of 2:01.19. Finishing over three seconds later was Longhorn’s Colter Carman (2:04.35), Longhorn’s Braxton Moore (2:05.01), and Cypress Fairbank’s Elliott Moore (2:05.47).

Topping off the top eight was Lakeshore’s Johan Pretorius (2:07.12), unattached Stephen Chang (2:07.92), Nitro’s Greyson Alarcon (2:07.99), and Nitro’s Dominic Toledo Sanchez (2:11.68).

Women’s 100 Breast

Taking a 1-2 Aggie finish was Anna Belousova (1:08.62) and Jorie Caneta (1:09.05). Also breaking the 1:10 mark was Rice Aquatics’ Mary-claire Schillinger at 1:09.92. Aggie’s world championships medalist Bethany Galat (1:10.14) and unattached Olivia Anderson (1:10.20) finished in fourth and fifth place.

Closing the top eight was unattached Ema Rajic (1:10.35), Aggie’s Victoria Roubique (1:11.05), and unattached Holly Jansen (1:12.09).

Men’s 100 Breast

The two NCAA Champions from Longhorn Aquatics went for a close 1-2 finish in the 100 breast tonight, with Andrew Wilson (1:00.45) taking the win and teammate Will Licon (1:00.96) in second. The duo finished nearly two seconds ahead of their nearest contender, Aggie’s Benjamin Walker (1:02.80).

Closing the top eight was Longhorn’s Joseph Daniels (1:03.02), Tiger’s Luca Pfyffer (1:03.28), Aggie’s Hudson Smith (1:04.40), Longhorn’s Casey Melzer (1:04.43), and Lakeside’s Donald Scott (1:05.51).

Women’s 200 Fly

Winning by nearly three seconds was Ashlyn Fiorilli of Texas Ford Aquatics at 2:13.56. Two Aggie swimmers, Camryn Toney (2:16.41) and Kara Eisenmann (2:16.88), took second and third place.

Closing the top eight was Crawfish’s Jolee Liles (2:17.76), Dallas’s Erin Trahan (2:17.92), Longhorn’s Victoria Edwards (2:19.36), Austin’s Ella Collins (2:20.88), and Rice’s Hanna Huston (2:21.04).

A rare tie finish occurred for B-final winners Isabel Tank of Houston Cougar Aquatics and Hannah Sumbera of Rice Aquatics, both finishing at 2:19.78.

Men’s 200 Fly

Future Stanford swimmer Jack Levant of the North Texas Nadadores took the title at 1:58.45. Finishing over four seconds behind Levant was Longhorn’s Coby Carrozza (2:02.53) and Alamo’s Cole Giandinoto (2:03.22).

Finishing off the top eight was Dallas Mustang’s Kaan Ayar (2:03.68), Aggie’s Austin Van Overdam (2:04.27), Texas Christian’s Dayne Odendaal (2:05.89), Nitro’s John Grieshop (2:07.47), and Alamo’s Jacob Peterson (2:07.58).

Women’s 100 Free

Julia Cook of Aggie Swim Club took the win at 55.22. Finishing shortly after were Longhorn’s Anelise Diener (56.05), Aggie’s Kathryn Portz (56.23), Magnolia’s Nordmann (56.76), Longhorn’s Emily Reese (56.94), Aggie’s Kornkarnjana Sapianchai (57.24), and unattached Rajic (57.97). Topping off the top eight was Longhorn’s Jordan Wheeler (1:07.93), who went for the first 50 split, going a 25.96.

Men’s 100 Free

Swimming for Nation’s Capital, Jack Conger won the final individual event of the night at 48.76. Under the 50 mark as well was Longhorn’s Tate Jackson (49.67) and Townley Haas (49.71), swimming for NOVA.

Closing the top eight was John Shebat of Nation’s Capital (50.03), Aggie’s Michael Thibert (50.22), unattached Timothy Clayton (50.35), Longhorn’s Jacob Huerta (50.75), and North Texas’ Levant (51.45).

Women’s 800 Free Relay

Winning the first relay of the meet by a 24 second margin was the Longhorn squad of Logan Shiller (2:01.66), Joanna Evans (1:59.73), Carrozza (2:02.76), and Pfeifer (1:58.81), finishing at 8:02.96.

Runner-up was Austin Swim Club (8:27.24) and third place went to Rockwall Aquatics (8:33.06).

Men’s 800 Free Relay

Winning the final event of the night at 7:39.46 was the North Texas Nadadores team of Kevin Repice (1:55.12), David Hallaron (1:55.48), Landon Armstrong (1:56.79), and Levant (1:52.07).

Coming in second was the Alamo Area Aquatic Association (7:43.63) and in third was Austin Swim Club (7:48.12).

The Austin Speedo Sectionals continues tomorrow with the 200 breast, 200 free, and 400 IM. Morning prelims begin at 9:00 am CDT, evening finals begin at 5:30 pm CDT.