Laramie Repeats, Wins 21st Program Title at Wyoming Boys 4A State Championships

Photo Courtesy: WyoPreps Twitter (@wyopreps)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2019 Wyoming Boys 4A State Swimming and Diving Championships took place on Friday, Feb. 16 at the Campbell County School Aquatic Center in Gillette, Wy.

Laramie successfully defended their overall team title with 257 points to secure their 21st championship crown in program history. Laramie junior Max DeYoung was awarded Swimmer of the Meet after a pair of impressive individual victories as well as two relay wins.

Click here for full results.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Laramie – 257
2. Thunder Basin – 186
3. Kelly Walsh – 185
4. Cheyenne East -145
5. Green River – 144

The meet began as Kelly Walsh’s Braden Lougee (26.51), Kellen Chadderdon (26.03), Jonas Armstrong (24.66) and Ian Pfaff (20.80) won the opening 4×50 medley relay in 1:38.00, well ahead of runner-up Green River (1:41.94) and Cheyenne East (1:42.03).

Green River’s Michael Richmond raced to first in a close 200 free race, stopping the clock in 1:42.42 for the win. It was a two-man race as Chadderdon was close behind in 1:43.34 for second while Laramie’s Connor Fontana also broke 1:50 in 1:48.10 for third.

DeYoung was the only swimmer in the field to break the two-minute marker in the 200 IM, doing so with an impressive final time of 1:55.64. Second went to Green River’s Jason Richmond in 2:02.61 while Cheyenne East’s Walker Marshall took third in 2:03.21.

Gunnar Poley of Thunder Basin splashed-and-dashed his way to the gold medal in the 50 free, touching the wall in a swift 20.99. Pfaff raced to the silver in 21.23 while Cheyenne Central’s Nick Allen grabbed the bronze in 21.90.

Laramie’s Chris Bury dove to the top spot on the 1-meter board, finishing first with a final score of 430.10. Thunder Basin teammates finished second and third, respectively: Isaiah Haliburton (383.20) and Corben Vaughn (273.00).

M. Richmond found himself on top of the podium for the second time today in the 100 fly, powering home in a final time of 51.07. Marshall dropped two seconds from his prelims time to finish second in 52.91 while Armstrong swam to third in 54.49.

Poley proved his sprint power by also winning the 100 free in addition to the 50, throwing down a time of 46.31 for the state title. Following the champion were Pfaff in second with a time of 47.20 and Allen in third with a time of 48.69.

It was a close race in the 500 free, as both of the top two finishers cracked the five-minute barrier. The title ultimately went to Thunder Basin’s JR Albers in 4:56.11, only slightly ahead of the runner-up Dean Lyon (4:56.41) of Green River. Cheyenne East’s Grant Schoene was third in 5:02.62.

Laramie’s 4×50 free relay squad of DeYoung (20.73), Colton Drury (22.13), Bury (22.91) and Fontana (22.00) won by nearly a full second in 1:27.77. Kelly Walsh (1:28.51) and Thunder Basin (1:29.29) rounded out the podium.

Shortly after helping his free relay to victory, DeYoung found himself on top of the podium after winning the 100 back by over four seconds in 51.29. His teammate Bury finished second in 55.37 while Evanston’s Jaxon Nicholls raced to third in 55.65.

After taking second in the 200 free, Chadderdon redeemed himself by winning the 100 breast in 57.02 as the only athlete under the minute-marker. J. Richmond got his hands to the wall second in 1:01.88 and Campbell County’s Corte Christensen finished third in 1:02.19.

Laramie solidified their overall team title as the 4×100 free relay of DeYoung (46.83), Drury (48.81), Fontana (48.40) and Noah Richardson (51.04) concluded the meet as champions in 3:15.08. Thunder Basin (3:18.68) and Green River (3:19.93) completed the top three relay teams.