Kopenski, Zettle Win On Night One of College Station Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit SpeedoUsa.com for more information on our sponsor.

The 2018 Speedo Sectionals Championship Series hosted by Texas A&M began today in College Station.

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 Speedo Sectionals Championship Series.

Women’s 1000 Free

Texas Ford Aquatics teammates Gabrielle Kopenski (9:45.58) and Ashlyn Fiorilli (9:46.42) finished first and second, respectively, in the women’s 1000 free to begin the meet. Fiorilli dropped nearly six seconds from her entry time while Kopenski, who will swim for Texas A&M this fall, got her first taste of competing in the Aggies’ pool.

Club Wolverine’s Georgia Mosher (9:55.89), City of Midland’s Mollie Wright (9:58.11), Houston Cougar’s Mary Catherine Jurica (10:05.77), Rockwall’s Ashley Conrad (10:06.39), Club Wolverine’s Sophia Tuinman (10:07.15) and Nitro’s Madeline Riley (10:10.17) completed the top eight.

Men’s 1000 Free

Lakeside’s Alexander Zettle dropped 12 seconds to dominate the men’s 1000 free, winning by over eight seconds. Zettle, who will swim for Texas next season, posted a final time of 9:00.06

Magnolia Aquatic’s Lucas Stuart dropped 22 seconds from his entry time to take second in 9:08.47 and Rockwall’s Ford Blaylock knocked off 15 seconds to finish third in 9:12.07.

DART Swimming’s Connor Daniels (9:12.38), Katy Aquatic’s William Coakley (9:17.52), North Texas Nadadore’s Christopher Lindley (9:20.66), Loveland’s Richard Dauksher (9:21.42) and Longhorn Aquatics Aidan Dulaney (9:22.70) rounded out the top eight.

Women’s 4×200 Free Relay

Palo Alto Stanford Aquatics dominated the women’s distance relay, beating the competition by nearly seven seconds. The quartet of Sarah Snyder (1:48.84), Zoe Lusk (1:48.78), Danielle Carter (1:47.87) and Isabelle Henig (1:47.29) combined for a winning time 7:12.78.

Metroplex Aquatics took second in 7:19.29 and Lakeside Aquatic Club finished third in 7:21.51.

Men’s 4×200 Free Relay

The Metroplex Aquatics team of Yezan Aisader (1:42.44), Trevor Liu (1:41.38), Jakob Clark (1:38.20) and Jason Park (1:35.35) won the final relay in 6:37.37.

Katy Aquatics finished a close second in 6:37.94 and Nitro was third in 6:38.26.

1 comment